Federal Minimum Wage, State Minimum Wage, and Minimum Wage Law - Minimum-Wage.org Federal Minimum Wage Rates, State Minimum Wage Rates, Minimum Wage Poster - Minimum-Wage.org

Federal & State Minimum Wage Rates, Laws, and Resources

Search Labor Law Information
State Minimum Wage Rates
State Min Wage QuickFind
Federal Minimum Wage Rate

Michigan Tipped Minimum Wage 2014

MI Tipped Wage
$2.65/hr

The Michigan minimum wage for tipped employees is $2.65 per hour, higher then the federal minimum wage for tipped employees of $2.13 per hour. The Michigan tipped wage applies to employees like waitresses, waiters, bartenders, valets, and other service employees who earn more then $30 in tips a month.

Including tips and cash wages, all tipped employees must still earn at least the Michigan Minimum Wage of $7.40 per hour. If a Michigan employee does not earn at least $7.40 including tips in any given hour of work, their employer must make up the difference in cash.

Michigan Tipped Wage Example:

Amy works in Michigan as a waitress, and earns over $30 in tips a month. This hour, Amy earned $3.50 in tips. Her employer must pay her a cash wage of at least $3.90, to bring her total earnings for the hour up to the Michigan minimum wage of $7.40. Annette, who also works as a waitress, earned $10.50 in tips this hour. Because she is already earning at least the minimum wage, her employer can pay her the Michigan tipped minimum wage of $2.65 for this hour.

Job Keywords Location
Free Michigan job listings provided by JobsAre.us External Link Are you an employer? List your jobs External Link

Michigan Tip Credit - Waitresses, Waiters, and Bartenders

Michigan employers who hire tipped workers like restaurants, bars, and cafes may deduct a tip credit of up to $4.75 from the minimum cash wage paid to their tipped employees, and can pay as little as $2.65 per hour for hours where the tipped employee has earned at least $4.75 in tips.

Michigan Waitress Min Wage
MI Tipped Waiter Minimum Wage