Alaska Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Alaska Minimum Wage
Alaska's state minimum wage rate is $10.85 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Alaska, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Alaska minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $3.70 from $7.15 to $10.85.
Alaska's current minimum wage is $10.85 per hour as of January 1, 2023. See the link to the labor poster for all exceptions to Alaska's minimum wage rate.
A ballot initiative in was passed in 2014 to adjust the minimum wage annually for inflation. Alaska Statute 23.10.065(a) requires the Alaska minimum wage to be adjusted using the Consumer Price Index for urban consumers in the Anchorage metropolitan area for the preceding calendar year. The Anchorage CPI increased 4.9 percent in 2021. As a result, the minimum wage will rise from $10.34 to $10.85 effective Jan. 1, 2023. The Alaska minimum wage applies to all hours worked in a pay period, regardless of how the employee is paid — whether by time, piece, commission or otherwise. All actual hours worked in a pay period multiplied by the Alaska minimum wage is the very least an employee can be compensated by an employer unless the employer can clearly show that a specific exemption exists.
Alaska employers may not pay you under $10.85 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Alaska minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Alaska job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Alaska employers must display an approved Alaska minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Alaska labor law.
Think the Alaska Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Alaska Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Alaska labor law requires all employers in Alaska to visibly display an approved Alaska minimum wage poster, and other Alaska and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Alaska labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Alaska labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get an Alaska all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Alaska and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Alaska and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Alaska minimum wage poster, and additional required Alaska labor law posters, are also available on the Alaska labor law posters download page.
Alaska Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Alaska overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Alaska law does specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all AK employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Alaska Department of Labor.
Alaska Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Alaska-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Alaska minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Alaska Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Alaska to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Alaska Student Minimum Wage - $9.22 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Alaska minimum wage (as little as $9.22 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Alaska Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $10.85 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Alaska tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Alaska Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Alaska minimum wage?
The current Alaska minimum wage of $10.85 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Alaska can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Alaska waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Alaska?
A full time minimum wage worker in Alaska working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $86.80 per day, $434.00 per week, and $22,568.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Alaska under 18 minimum wage?
Alaska employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Alaska may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Alaska minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Alaska income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $434.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $22,568.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.