Wyoming Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Wyoming Minimum Wage
Wyoming's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Wyoming, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Wyoming minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25.
Wyoming's minimum wage of $5.15 is well under the current Federal minimum wage of $7.25, so the Federal Minimum Wage is applicable to all covered employees.
Employees under 20 years old are permitted a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
Wyoming employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Wyoming minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Wyoming job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Wyoming employers must display an approved Wyoming minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Wyoming labor law.
Think the Wyoming Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Wyoming Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Wyoming labor law requires all employers in Wyoming to visibly display an approved Wyoming minimum wage poster, and other Wyoming and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Wyoming labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Wyoming labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Wyoming all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Wyoming and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Wyoming and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Wyoming minimum wage poster, and additional required Wyoming labor law posters, are also available on the Wyoming labor law posters download page.
Wyoming Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Wyoming overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Wyoming law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all WY employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Wyoming Department of Labor.
Wyoming Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Wyoming-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Wyoming minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Wyoming Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Wyoming to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Wyoming Student Minimum Wage - $6.16 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Wyoming minimum wage (as little as $6.16 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Wyoming Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Wyoming tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Wyoming Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Wyoming minimum wage?
The current Wyoming minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Wyoming can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Wyoming waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Wyoming?
A full time minimum wage worker in Wyoming working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Wyoming under 18 minimum wage?
Wyoming employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Wyoming may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Wyoming minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Wyoming income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $290.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $15,080.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.