Oregon Minimum Wage for 2021, 2022
Contents :: Oregon Minimum Wage
Oregon's state minimum wage rate is $12.75 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Oregon, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Oregon minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $4.80 from $7.95 to $12.75. Oregon's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
Oregon's current minimum wage is $12.75 per hour. It is scheduled to increase to $13.50 per hour in July 2022. Since 2003, Oregon's minimum wage has been adjusted yearly for inflation on January 1 by a calculation using the U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers for All Items. The wage amount established with this index is rounded to the nearest five cents.
LOCAL MINIMUM WAGE
In recent years several cities and municipalities in Oregon have established their own minimum wage rates. Here is a list of the current rates along with future increases:
- Metro Portland: $14.00,increased t0 $14.75 on 7/1/2022
- Non Urban Counties: $12.00, increasing to $12.50 on 7//1/2022
Oregon allows employers to make fair deductions from employee's wages for meals and lodging, but paying sub-minimum wage rates to tipped employees is not permitted.
Other notable Oregon labor laws require paid 10-minute rest periods every 4 hours for adult workers (and 15 minute rest periods for minors).
Oregon employers may not pay you under $12.75 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Oregon minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Oregon job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Oregon employers must display an approved Oregon minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Oregon labor law.
Think the Oregon Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Oregon Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Oregon labor law requires all employers in Oregon to visibly display an approved Oregon minimum wage poster, and other Oregon and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Oregon labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Oregon labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Oregon minimum wage poster, and additional required Oregon labor law posters, are also available on the Oregon labor law posters download page.
Oregon Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Oregon overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Oregon law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all OR employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Oregon Department of Labor.
Oregon Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Oregon-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Oregon minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Oregon Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Oregon to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Oregon Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $12.75 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Oregon tipped minimum wage.
Local Minimum Wage Rates in Oregon
While Oregon's state minimum wage is $12.75 per hour, there are localities that have set their own, higher minimum wages that apply to some or all employees within their jurisdictions. The following is a table of all Oregon localities with established minimum wage laws.
|Locality||Applies To||Minimum Wage||Comparison to State|
|Non-Urban Counties||All employees||$12.00||-$0.75|
Frequently Asked Questions - Oregon Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Oregon minimum wage?
The current Oregon minimum wage of $12.75 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Oregon can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Oregon waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Oregon?
A full time minimum wage worker in Oregon working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $102.00 per day, $510.00 per week, and $26,520.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Oregon under 18 minimum wage?
Oregon employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Oregon may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Oregon minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Oregon income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services