Oklahoma Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Oklahoma Minimum Wage
Oklahoma's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Oklahoma, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Oklahoma minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25.
Oklahoma's current minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as the federal minimum wage. Oklahoma's minimum wage applies to any employer that grosses $100,000 or more a year, OR hires ten or more employees. Oklahoma does not have a unique minimum wage, and instead adopts the Federal Minimum Wage by reference. Oklahoma sets a special minimum wage of $2.00 per hour for work not covered by the Federal Minimum Wage, including full time students (OK Statutes 40-197.5).
Any employee under the age of 22 who are enrolled as full-time students are exempt from Oklahoma's minimum wage law (but the special minimum wage of $2.00 per hour still applies). Additional exempt employees include farm and ranch workers, maids, government employees, railroad workers, temporary part-time employees, feed store employees, and deputy sheriffs.
Additional minimum wage statutes allow Oklahoma employers to deduct the cost of uniforms from their employee's wages. If employers fail to pay the legal minimum wage to an employee, they could be liable to pay up to double the amount of wages owed to the employee.
Oklahoma employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Oklahoma minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Oklahoma job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Oklahoma employers must display an approved Oklahoma minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Oklahoma labor law.
Think the Oklahoma Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Oklahoma Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Oklahoma labor law requires all employers in Oklahoma to visibly display an approved Oklahoma minimum wage poster, and other Oklahoma and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Oklahoma labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Oklahoma labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get an Oklahoma all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Oklahoma and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Oklahoma and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Oklahoma minimum wage poster, and additional required Oklahoma labor law posters, are also available on the Oklahoma labor law posters download page.
Oklahoma Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Oklahoma overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Oklahoma law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all OK employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Oklahoma Department of Labor.
Oklahoma Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Oklahoma-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Oklahoma minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Oklahoma Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Oklahoma to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Oklahoma Student Minimum Wage - $6.16 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Oklahoma minimum wage (as little as $6.16 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Oklahoma Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Oklahoma tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Oklahoma Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Oklahoma minimum wage?
The current Oklahoma minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Oklahoma can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Oklahoma waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Oklahoma?
A full time minimum wage worker in Oklahoma working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Oklahoma under 18 minimum wage?
Oklahoma employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Oklahoma may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Oklahoma minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Oklahoma income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $290.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $15,080.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.