Nevada Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Nevada Minimum Wage
Nevada's state minimum wage rate is $10.50 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Nevada, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Nevada minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $3.65 from $6.85 to $10.50. Nevada's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
Nevada's minimum wage as of July 1, 2022 is $10.50 per hour (Higher Tier) and $9.50 per hour (lower tier, with health benefits included)
- Nevada Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Nevada to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Nevada Student Minimum Wage - $8.93 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Nevada minimum wage (as little as $8.93 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Nevada Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $10.50 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Nevada tipped minimum wage.
- What is the Nevada minimum wage?
The current Nevada minimum wage of $10.50 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Nevada can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Nevada waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Nevada?
A full time minimum wage worker in Nevada working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $84.00 per day, $420.00 per week, and $21,840.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Nevada under 18 minimum wage?
Nevada employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Nevada may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Nevada minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
Nevada employers may not pay you under $10.50 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Nevada minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Nevada job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Nevada employers must display an approved Nevada minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Nevada labor law.
Think the Nevada Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Nevada Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Nevada labor law requires all employers in Nevada to visibly display an approved Nevada minimum wage poster, and other Nevada and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Nevada labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Nevada labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Nevada all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Nevada and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Nevada and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Nevada minimum wage poster, and additional required Nevada labor law posters, are also available on the Nevada labor law posters download page.
Nevada Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Nevada overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Nevada law does specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all NV employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Nevada Department of Labor.
Nevada Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Nevada-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Nevada minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
Frequently Asked Questions - Nevada Minimum Wage & Labor Law
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Nevada income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $420.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $21,840.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.