Vermont Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Vermont Minimum Wage
Vermont's state minimum wage rate is $13.18 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Vermont, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Vermont minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $5.50 from $7.68 to $13.18.
Vermont’s current minimum wage is $13.18 per hour. Vermont’s minimum wage for tipped employees is currently $6.59. The minimum wage and tipped minimum wage are adjusted annually in accordance with Vermont law and take effect at the start of the new year. Any employee who believes they are not being compensated fairly, according to this law, is encouraged to contact the Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Unit at 802-951-4083 or online at Labor.Vermont.gov/Rights-and-Wages. The Vermont minimum wage law covers employers who are employing two or more employees, unless exempted by statute. Exemptions include, but are not limited to: full-time high school students, agriculture workers, taxi cab drivers, outside salespersons, newspaper or advertisement home delivery persons, persons employed in the activities of a publicly supported non-profit organization (except laundry employees and nurses aides or practical nurses), a person employed in a domestic service in or about a private home, a person employed by the United States federal government.
“A service or tipped employee” means an employee of a hotel, motel, tourist place, or restaurant who customarily and regularly receives more than $120.00 a month in tips for direct and personal customer service. Basic Wage Rate: The basic wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards the minimum wage for service or tipped employees. If an employee does not receive sufficient tips in the work week to at least achieve the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, the employer must make up the difference.
Vermont employers may not pay you under $13.18 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Vermont minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Vermont job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Vermont employers must display an approved Vermont minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Vermont labor law.
Think the Vermont Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Vermont Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Vermont labor law requires all employers in Vermont to visibly display an approved Vermont minimum wage poster, and other Vermont and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Vermont labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Vermont labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Vermont all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Vermont and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Vermont and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Vermont minimum wage poster, and additional required Vermont labor law posters, are also available on the Vermont labor law posters download page.
Vermont Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Vermont overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Vermont law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all VT employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Vermont Department of Labor.
Vermont Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Vermont-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Vermont minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Vermont Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Vermont to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Vermont Student Minimum Wage - $11.20 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Vermont minimum wage (as little as $11.20 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Vermont Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $13.18 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Vermont tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Vermont Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Vermont minimum wage?
The current Vermont minimum wage of $13.18 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Vermont can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Vermont waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Vermont?
A full time minimum wage worker in Vermont working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $105.44 per day, $527.20 per week, and $27,414.40 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Vermont under 18 minimum wage?
Vermont employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Vermont may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Vermont minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Vermont income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $527.20 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $27,414.40 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.