Rhode Island Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Rhode Island Minimum Wage
Rhode Island's state minimum wage rate is $13.00 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Rhode Island, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Rhode Island minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $5.60 from $7.40 to $13.00.
Rhode island's current minimum wage is $13.00 per hour. The tipped wage is $3.89. Exceptions Full-time students under 19 years of age working in nonprofit religious, educational, librarial, or community service organizations: As of 1/1/2022 — $11.03 (90% of applicable minimum) 14 and 15-year-olds who do not work more than 24 hours in a week: For any week in which a 14 or 15-year-old works more than 24 hours, the higher applicable minimum rate must be paid for all hours worked in that week. As of 1/1/2022 — $9.19 per hour (75% of applicable minimum). Workers employed in domestic service in or about a private home, federal service, voluntary service in educational, charitable, religious or nonprofit organizations where employer/employee relationships do not exist, such as newspaper carriers on home delivery, shoe shine persons, caddies on golf courses, ushers in theaters, traveling or outside sales occupations. Service performed by an individual employed by a son or daughter or a minor child employed by the parent. Occupations in resort establishments serving meals to the general public that are not open more than 6 months during the year-between May 1 and October 1 only - and any individual employed by an organized camp having a structured program, including but not limited to, recreation, education and religion or any combination thereof. Such an individual must not be employed by the organization on an annual full-time basis and such a camp must not operate for more than 7 months in any calendar year. This exemption does not apply to employees of trailer camps. (RI General Law 28-12)
Rhode Island employers may not pay you under $13.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Rhode Island minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Rhode Island job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Rhode Island employers must display an approved Rhode Island minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Rhode Island labor law.
Think the Rhode Island Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Rhode Island Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Rhode Island labor law requires all employers in Rhode Island to visibly display an approved Rhode Island minimum wage poster, and other Rhode Island and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Rhode Island labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Rhode Island labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Rhode Island all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Rhode Island and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Rhode Island and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Rhode Island minimum wage poster, and additional required Rhode Island labor law posters, are also available on the Rhode Island labor law posters download page.
Rhode Island Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Rhode Island overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Rhode Island law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all RI employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Rhode Island Department of Labor.
Rhode Island Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Rhode Island-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Rhode Island minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Rhode Island Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Rhode Island to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Rhode Island Student Minimum Wage - $11.05 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Rhode Island minimum wage (as little as $11.05 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Rhode Island Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $13.00 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Rhode Island tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Rhode Island Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Rhode Island minimum wage?
The current Rhode Island minimum wage of $13.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Rhode Island can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Rhode Island waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Rhode Island?
A full time minimum wage worker in Rhode Island working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $104.00 per day, $520.00 per week, and $27,040.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Rhode Island under 18 minimum wage?
Rhode Island employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Rhode Island may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Rhode Island minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Rhode Island income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $520.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $27,040.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.