Idaho Minimum Wage for 2019, 2020
Idaho's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Idaho, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Idaho minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25.
Idaho's minimum wage has been set at $7.25 since 2009, to match the federal minimum wage. Idaho's minimum wage is applicable to employers of 4 or more employees, excluding family members. Employees under 20 years old can be paid $4.25 per hour for up to 90 days, and children under 16 working part-time jobs are fully exempt.
Additional exemptions to the Idaho minimum wage include outside salespeople, executive/professional/administrative staff, some farm workers, and employees at seasonal camps.
Click here for a helpful guide to Idaho's labor laws, and here for wage information.
Idaho employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Idaho minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Idaho job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Idaho employers must display an approved Idaho minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Idaho labor law.
Think the Idaho Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Idaho Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Idaho labor law requires all employers in Idaho to visibly display an approved Idaho minimum wage poster, and other Idaho and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Idaho labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Idaho labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Idaho minimum wage poster, and additional required Idaho labor law posters, are also available on the Idaho labor law posters download page.
Idaho Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Idaho overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Idaho law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all ID employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Idaho Department of Labor.
Idaho Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Idaho-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Idaho minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Idaho Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Idaho to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Idaho Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Idaho tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Idaho Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Idaho minimum wage?
The current Idaho minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Idaho can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Idaho waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Idaho?
A full time minimum wage worker in Idaho working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Idaho under 18 minimum wage?
Idaho employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Idaho may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Idaho minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Idaho income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services