Illinois Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Illinois Minimum Wage
Illinois' state minimum wage rate is $13.00 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Illinois, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Illinois minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $5.25 from $7.75 to $13.00.
Beginning January 1, 2023, the minimum wage in Illinois is $13.00 per hour. Employees over the age of 18, who do NOT receive tips, may be paid $12.50 for the first 90 days with employer. Those under 18 years of age may be paid at the rate of $10.50 per hour for less than 650 hours worked for an employer in a calendar year. Once the employee works more than 650 hours with an employer in a calendar year, they must be paid $13.00 per hour The tipped wage is $7.80 per hour. Tipped employees must be paid minimum wage, but an employer may take credit for the employee's tips in an amount not to exceed 40% of the wages. An employer may pay a training wage for tipped employees 18 and over in the amount of $7.80 for the first 90 days if applying the tip credit of 40% or $12.50 if not utilizing the tip credit. After 90 days, the rate must be increased to $13.00 if not utilizing the tip credit.
LOCAL MINIMUM WAGE Chicago: As of July 1, 2022 the minimum wage in Chicago is $15.40 per hour for employers with 21 or more workers, and $14.50 per hour for employers with 4 to 20 workers. Tipped workers (workers who receive tips as part of their wage, like restaurant servers) have a minimum wage of $8.70 for employers with 4 to 20 workers, and $9.24 for employers with 21 or more workers. If a tipped worker’s wages plus tips do not equal at least the full minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference. C00k County: Has a current minimum wage of $13.35 per hour, with tipped employees set at $7.80.
Illinois employers may not pay you under $13.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Illinois minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Illinois job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Illinois employers must display an approved Illinois minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Illinois labor law.
Think the Illinois Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Illinois Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Illinois labor law requires all employers in Illinois to visibly display an approved Illinois minimum wage poster, and other Illinois and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Illinois labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Illinois labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get an Illinois all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Illinois and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Illinois and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Illinois minimum wage poster, and additional required Illinois labor law posters, are also available on the Illinois labor law posters download page.
Illinois Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Illinois overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Illinois law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all IL employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Illinois Department of Labor.
Illinois Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Illinois-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Illinois minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Illinois Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Illinois to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Illinois Student Minimum Wage - $11.05 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Illinois minimum wage (as little as $11.05 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Illinois Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $13.00 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Illinois tipped minimum wage.
Local Minimum Wage Rates in Illinois
While Illinois' state minimum wage is $13.00 per hour, there are localities that have set their own, higher minimum wages that apply to some or all employees within their jurisdictions. The following is a table of all Illinois localities with established minimum wage laws.
|Locality||Applies To||Minimum Wage||Comparison to State|
|Chicago||21 or more employees||$15.40||+$2.40|
|4- 20 employees||$14.50||+$1.50|
|Cook County||All employees||$13.30||+$0.30|
Frequently Asked Questions - Illinois Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Illinois minimum wage?
The current Illinois minimum wage of $13.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Illinois can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Illinois waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Illinois?
A full time minimum wage worker in Illinois working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $104.00 per day, $520.00 per week, and $27,040.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Illinois under 18 minimum wage?
Illinois employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Illinois may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Illinois minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Illinois income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $520.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $27,040.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.