New Mexico Minimum Wage for 2019, 2020
Contents :: New Mexico Minimum Wage
New Mexico's state minimum wage rate is $9.00 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in New Mexico, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The New Mexico minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $2.50 from $6.50 to $9.00. New Mexico's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
New Mexico's 2020 minimum wage rate is $9.00 per hour.The minimum wage for tipped employees is $2.35 per hour.
Future minimum wage increases are slated as follows:
- 2021: $10.50
- 2022: $11.50
- 2023: $12.00
Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees
- 2021: $2.55
- 2022: $2.80
- 2013: $3.00
LOCAL MINIMUM WAGE
In recent years several cities and municipalities in New Mexico have established their own minimum wage rates. Here is a list of the current rates along with future increases:
- Albuquerque: $9.35, 8.35 with health or childcare benefits. $5.60 tipped wage
- Bernalillo County: $9.05 (2019)
- Santa Fe: $11.80 (2019)
- Santa Fe County: $11.80(2019), $3.53 tipped wage.
- Las Cruces: $10.25
Minors under 18, students working after school hours, domestic workers, government employees, farm workers, and certain seasonal employees are all exempt from the New Mexico minimum wage.
New Mexico employers may not pay you under $9.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the New Mexico minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free New Mexico job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All New Mexico employers must display an approved New Mexico minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under New Mexico labor law.
Think the New Mexico Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
New Mexico Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and New Mexico labor law requires all employers in New Mexico to visibly display an approved New Mexico minimum wage poster, and other New Mexico and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and New Mexico labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a New Mexico labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The New Mexico minimum wage poster, and additional required New Mexico labor law posters, are also available on the New Mexico labor law posters download page.
New Mexico Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about New Mexico overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (New Mexico law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all NM employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the New Mexico Department of Labor.
New Mexico Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any New Mexico-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the New Mexico minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- New Mexico Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in New Mexico to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- New Mexico Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $9.00 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the New Mexico tipped minimum wage.
Local Minimum Wage Rates in New Mexico
While New Mexico's state minimum wage is $9.00 per hour, there are localities that have set their own, higher minimum wages that apply to some or all employees within their jurisdictions. The following is a table of all New Mexico localities with established minimum wage laws.
|Locality||Applies To||Minimum Wage||Comparison to State|
|Bernalillo County||All employees||$9.05||+$0.05|
|Las Cruces||All employees||$10.25||+$1.25|
|Santa Fe||All employees||$11.80||+$2.80|
|Santa Fe County||All employees||$11.80||+$2.80|
Frequently Asked Questions - New Mexico Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the New Mexico minimum wage?
The current New Mexico minimum wage of $9.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in New Mexico can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "New Mexico waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin New Mexico?
A full time minimum wage worker in New Mexico working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $72.00 per day, $360.00 per week, and $18,720.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the New Mexico under 18 minimum wage?
New Mexico employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in New Mexico may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the New Mexico minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the New Mexico income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services