Wisconsin Minimum Wage for 2017, 2018
Contents :: Wisconsin Minimum Wage
Wisconsin's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Wisconsin, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Wisconsin minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.75 from $6.50 to $7.25. Wisconsin's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
Wisconsin's current minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. Wisconsin's minimum wage is tied to the Federal Minimum Wage rate. A special minimum wage of $5.90 per hour ($2.13 per hour for tipped employees) is applicable to "Opportunity Employees" under 20 years old who have worked for less then 90 days with their current employer.
Unlike many other states, Wisconsin sets specific minimum pay rates for several occupations that are exempt from the regular minimum wage.
- All Wisconsin agricultural and farm employees, who are usually exempt from the minimum wage, are guaranteed the full minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
- A special minimum wage exists for golf caddies (who are completely exempt in most other states), of $5.90 per 9 holes and $10.50 for 18 holes.
- Minimum pay rates for camp counselors (including minors) are $210 per week with board & lodging, $265 per week with board only, and $350 per week with no board or lodging provided.
Wisconsin employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Wisconsin minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Wisconsin job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Wisconsin employers must display an approved Wisconsin minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Wisconsin labor law.
Think the Wisconsin Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Wisconsin Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Wisconsin labor law requires all employers in Wisconsin to visibly display an approved Wisconsin minimum wage poster, and other Wisconsin and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Wisconsin labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Wisconsin labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Wisconsin minimum wage poster, and additional required Wisconsin labor law posters, are also available on the Wisconsin labor law posters download page.
Wisconsin Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Wisconsin overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Wisconsin law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all WI employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Wisconsin Department of Labor.
Wisconsin Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Wisconsin-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Wisconsin minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Wisconsin Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Wisconsin to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Wisconsin Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Wisconsin tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Wisconsin Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Wisconsin minimum wage?
The current Wisconsin minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Wisconsin can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Wisconsin waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Wisconsin?
A full time minimum wage worker in Wisconsin working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Wisconsin under 18 minimum wage?
Wisconsin employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Wisconsin may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Wisconsin minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Wisconsin income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services