Arkansas Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Arkansas Minimum Wage
Arkansas' state minimum wage rate is $11.00 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Arkansas, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Arkansas minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $4.75 from $6.25 to $11.00.
The Arkansas minimum wage is currently $11.00 per hour. Tipped wages are set at $2.63 per hour. The Arkansas Minimum Wage Act covers employers with 4 or more employees. Employers covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) are also covered by the Arkansas law if they have 4 or more employees. An employer covered by both laws must pay the highest minimum wage.
Tipped Employees Tipped employees must be paid at least $2.63 per hour. The tips they earn must be enough to bring them up to the applicable minimum wage per hour. If the tips do not bring them up to minimum wage, the employer must add enough to their pay to do so. It is the employer’s responsibility to keep accurate tip records.
Arkansas employers may not pay you under $11.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Arkansas minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Arkansas job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Arkansas employers must display an approved Arkansas minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Arkansas labor law.
Think the Arkansas Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Arkansas Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Arkansas labor law requires all employers in Arkansas to visibly display an approved Arkansas minimum wage poster, and other Arkansas and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Arkansas labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Arkansas labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get an Arkansas all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Arkansas and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Arkansas and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Arkansas minimum wage poster, and additional required Arkansas labor law posters, are also available on the Arkansas labor law posters download page.
Arkansas Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Arkansas overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Arkansas law does specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all AR employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Arkansas Department of Labor.
Arkansas Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Arkansas-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Arkansas minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Arkansas Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Arkansas to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Arkansas Student Minimum Wage - $9.35 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Arkansas minimum wage (as little as $9.35 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Arkansas Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $11.00 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Arkansas tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Arkansas Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Arkansas minimum wage?
The current Arkansas minimum wage of $11.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Arkansas can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Arkansas waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Arkansas?
A full time minimum wage worker in Arkansas working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $88.00 per day, $440.00 per week, and $22,880.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Arkansas under 18 minimum wage?
Arkansas employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Arkansas may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Arkansas minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Arkansas income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $440.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $22,880.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.