Washington Minimum Wage for 2017, 2018
Contents :: Washington Minimum Wage
Washington's state minimum wage rate is $11.50 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Washington, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Washington minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $3.43 from $8.07 to $11.50. Washington's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
Minimum wage in Washington state is currently $11.50 per hour as of January 1, 2018, with no tip credit.
On January 1, 2016 minimum wage rose to $9.47 per hour based on inflation. In 2015, Washington enjoyed the highest state minimum wage in the United States, however in 2016, several states and local municipalities have instituted higher minimum wages than Washington. The Washington minimum wage has been adjusted every year since 2001 based on a cost of living index (the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers, or CPI-W). From 2008 through 2013, the Washington Minimum Wage was raised by over 14%.
Washington's minimum wage was raised by 15 cents from $9.32 to $9.47 per hour as of January 1, 2015. The minimum wage was previously raised 13 cents in 2014, 15 cents in 2013, and 37 cents in 2012.
LOCAL MINIMUM WAGE
- Seattle: As of January 1,2018 Seattle's minimum wage
- For large employers (501+ employees) is $15.45 per hour if they don't receive medical benefits, and $15.00 an hour if they do.
- For smaller employers (500 or less employees) the rate is $13.00 an hour if they have no medical benefits, $11.50 if they receive medical benefits or are partly paid through tips.
Small employers( 500 employees or less) will reach $15 minimum wage in 7 years.
Large employers(501 + employees) will reach $15 1n hour in 3 years.
- Tacoma: $12.00 per hour as of January 1, 2018 and annual inflation adjustments thereafter (January 1, 2019).
- SeaTac: $15.64 per hour and is adjusted annually for inflation on January 1 of each year, and applies only to hospitality workers and transportation workers.
Employees under 16 years old can be paid 85% of the Washington minimum wage, currently $8.05 per hour. Additional Washington labor laws require all employees to be given one ten-minute paid break for every three hours of work, and one unpaid 30-minute meal period for shifts over 5 hours long.
In Washington, trainees, interns, and tipped workers receive full minimum wage, tip credits are not allowed.
Washington employers may not pay you under $11.50 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Washington minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Washington job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Washington employers must display an approved Washington minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Washington labor law.
Think the Washington Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Washington Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Washington labor law requires all employers in Washington to visibly display an approved Washington minimum wage poster, and other Washington and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Washington labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Washington labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Washington minimum wage poster, and additional required Washington labor law posters, are also available on the Washington labor law posters download page.
Washington Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Washington overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Washington law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all WA employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Washington Department of Labor.
Washington Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Washington-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Washington minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Washington Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Washington to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Washington Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $11.50 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Washington tipped minimum wage.
Local Minimum Wage Rates in Washington
While Washington's state minimum wage is $11.50 per hour, there are localities that have set their own, higher minimum wages that apply to some or all employees within their jurisdictions. The following is a table of all Washington localities with established minimum wage laws.
|Locality||Applies To||Minimum Wage||Comparison to State|
|Sea Tac||All employees||$15.64||+$4.14|
|Seattle||500 or less employees, with benefits||$11.50||Same|
|500 or less employees, without benefits||$13.00||+$1.50|
|501 or more employees, with benefits||$15.00||+$3.50|
|501 or more employees, without benefits||$15.45||+$3.95|
Frequently Asked Questions - Washington Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Washington minimum wage?
The current Washington minimum wage of $11.50 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Washington can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Washington waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Washington?
A full time minimum wage worker in Washington working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $92.00 per day, $460.00 per week, and $23,920.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Washington under 18 minimum wage?
Washington employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Washington may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Washington minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Washington income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services