New Hampshire Minimum Wage for 2016, 2017
Contents :: New Hampshire Minimum Wage
New Hampshire's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in New Hampshire, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The New Hampshire minimum wage has not been changed since at least 2008. New Hampshire's minimum wage rate is linked to a Customer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
The New Hampshire minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal Minimum Wage rate if it becomes higher than the state minimum wage.
Tipped employees in New Hampshire are paid no less than 40% of the state minimum wage which currently calculates at $3.27 per hour.
Domestic and farm laborers, outside sales representatives, summer camp staff, newspaper carriers, golf caddies, and non-professional ski patrol are exempt from the New Hampshire minimum wage.
New Hampshire employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the New Hampshire minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free New Hampshire job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All New Hampshire employers must display an approved New Hampshire minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under New Hampshire labor law.
Think the New Hampshire Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
New Hampshire Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and New Hampshire labor law requires all employers in New Hampshire to visibly display an approved New Hampshire minimum wage poster, and other New Hampshire and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and New Hampshire labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a New Hampshire labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The New Hampshire minimum wage poster, and additional required New Hampshire labor law posters, are also available on the New Hampshire labor law posters download page.
New Hampshire Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about New Hampshire overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (New Hampshire law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all NH employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the New Hampshire Department of Labor.
New Hampshire Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any New Hampshire-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the New Hampshire minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- New Hampshire Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in New Hampshire to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- New Hampshire Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the New Hampshire tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - New Hampshire Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the New Hampshire minimum wage?
The current New Hampshire minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in New Hampshire can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "New Hampshire waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin New Hampshire?
A full time minimum wage worker in New Hampshire working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the New Hampshire under 18 minimum wage?
New Hampshire employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in New Hampshire may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the New Hampshire minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the New Hampshire income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services