Michigan Minimum Wage for 2017, 2018
Michigan's state minimum wage rate is $9.25 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Michigan, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Michigan minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $1.85 from $7.40 to $9.25. Michigan's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
The current minimum wage in Michigan is $9.25 per hour as of January 1, 2018. The tipped wage is $3.52 Current legislation has the minimum wage increasing to $8.90 in January 2017 and $9.25 in January of 2018. Michigan's minimum wage applies to any company that employs two or more employees over 16 years old. Two notable exceptions allow minors to be paid under the Michigan minimum wage - one allows minors aged 16-17 to be paid 85% of the minimum wage indefinitely, and the second allows any employee under 20 years of age to be paid as little as $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment at any job.
Michigan employers may not pay you under $9.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Michigan minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Michigan job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Michigan employers must display an approved Michigan minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Michigan labor law.
Think the Michigan Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Michigan Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Michigan labor law requires all employers in Michigan to visibly display an approved Michigan minimum wage poster, and other Michigan and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Michigan labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Michigan labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Michigan minimum wage poster, and additional required Michigan labor law posters, are also available on the Michigan labor law posters download page.
Michigan Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Michigan overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Michigan law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all MI employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Michigan Department of Labor.
Michigan Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Michigan-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Michigan minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Michigan Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Michigan to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Michigan Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $9.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Michigan tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Michigan Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Michigan minimum wage?
The current Michigan minimum wage of $9.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Michigan can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Michigan waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Michigan?
A full time minimum wage worker in Michigan working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $74.00 per day, $370.00 per week, and $19,240.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Michigan under 18 minimum wage?
Michigan employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Michigan may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Michigan minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Michigan income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services