Minnesota Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Minnesota Minimum Wage
Minnesota's state minimum wage rate is $10.59 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Minnesota, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Minnesota minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $4.44 from $6.15 to $10.59.
The current minimum wage in Minnesota is $10.59 per hour for large business (Any enterprise with annual gross revenues of
$500,000 or more) and $8.63 per hour for small business (Any enterprise with annual gross revenues of less
than $500,000) as of January 1, 2023.
A training wage rate, $8.63 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive days of employment.
A youth wage rate, $8.63 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 18 years of age.
A partial list of exempt employees includes: bona fide executive, administrative or professional workers; babysitters; volunteers of nonprofit organizations; and employees subject to the provisions of the U.S. Department of Transportation (drivers, drivers' helpers, mechanics and loaders).
Minnesota does not have a tipped wage.
LOCAL MINIMUM WAGES IN Minnesota
Here is a list of the current rates:
- Minneapolis: $15.19 (Businesses with more than 100 employees), $13.50 (Businesses with 100 or fewer employees)
- Saint Paul: $15.19 (Macro Businesses with more than 10,001 employees), $13.50 (Large Businesses with 101-10,000 employees), $13.00 (Small Businesses with 6- 100 employees, )$11.50 (Micro Businesses with 5 or fewer employees)
- Minnesota Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Minnesota to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Minnesota Student Minimum Wage - $9.00 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Minnesota minimum wage (as little as $9.00 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Minnesota Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $10.59 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Minnesota tipped minimum wage.
- What is the Minnesota minimum wage?
The current Minnesota minimum wage of $10.59 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Minnesota can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Minnesota waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Minnesota?
A full time minimum wage worker in Minnesota working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $84.72 per day, $423.60 per week, and $22,027.20 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Minnesota under 18 minimum wage?
Minnesota employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Minnesota may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Minnesota minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
Minnesota employers may not pay you under $10.59 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Minnesota minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Minnesota job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Minnesota employers must display an approved Minnesota minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Minnesota labor law.
Think the Minnesota Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Minnesota Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Minnesota labor law requires all employers in Minnesota to visibly display an approved Minnesota minimum wage poster, and other Minnesota and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Minnesota labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Minnesota labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Minnesota all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Minnesota and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Minnesota and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Minnesota minimum wage poster, and additional required Minnesota labor law posters, are also available on the Minnesota labor law posters download page.
Minnesota Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Minnesota overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Minnesota law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all MN employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Minnesota Department of Labor.
Minnesota Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Minnesota-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Minnesota minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
Local Minimum Wage Rates in Minnesota
While Minnesota's state minimum wage is $10.59 per hour, there are localities that have set their own, higher minimum wages that apply to some or all employees within their jurisdictions. The following is a table of all Minnesota localities with established minimum wage laws.
|Locality||Applies To||Minimum Wage||Comparison to State|
|Minneapolis||100 or fewer workers||$13.50||+$2.91|
|more than 100 employees||$15.19||+$4.60|
|Saint Paul||Large businesses 101-10,000 total employees||$15.00||+$4.41|
|Macro businesses 10,001 or more employees||$15.19||+$4.60|
|Micro businesses 5 or fewer employees||$10.75||+$0.16|
|Small businesses 6-100 total employees||$12.00||+$1.41|
Frequently Asked Questions - Minnesota Minimum Wage & Labor Law
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Minnesota income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $423.60 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $22,027.20 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.