Virginia Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Virginia's state minimum wage rate is $12.00 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Virginia, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Virginia minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $5.45 from $6.55 to $12.00.
The current Minimum Wage in Virginia is $12.00 per hour. The tipped rate is $2.13 per hour. Tipped employees (those who regularly receive more than $30.00 a month in tips) may be paid at the tipped minimum wage of $2.13 per hour. However, an employee’s hourly wages plus tips must meet the Virginia minimum wage rate of $12.00 per hour. If they do not, an employer must pay the difference to an employee so that they earn at least $12.00 per hour. there are numerous classes of workers who are exempt from the Virginia minimum wage. For a complete list, please refer to Va. Code § 40.1-28.9.
The minimum wage is slated to raise to reach $15.00 per hour by January 1, 2026. The scheduled raises are as follows: January 1, 2025 - $13.50 January 1, 2026 - $15.00 Note that while employers are not required to post notice of the Virginia minimum wage, a notice is available for employers who wish to post this information: Virginia Minimum Wage Act Notice.
Virginia employers may not pay you under $12.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Virginia minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Virginia job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Virginia employers must display an approved Virginia minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Virginia labor law.
Think the Virginia Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Virginia Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Virginia labor law requires all employers in Virginia to visibly display an approved Virginia minimum wage poster, and other Virginia and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Virginia labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Virginia labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Virginia minimum wage poster, and additional required Virginia labor law posters, are also available on the Virginia labor law posters download page.
Virginia Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Virginia overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Virginia law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all VA employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Virginia Department of Labor.
Virginia Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Virginia-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Virginia minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Virginia Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Virginia to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Virginia Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $12.00 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Virginia tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Virginia Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Virginia minimum wage?
The current Virginia minimum wage of $12.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Virginia can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Virginia waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Virginia?
A full time minimum wage worker in Virginia working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $96.00 per day, $480.00 per week, and $24,960.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Virginia under 18 minimum wage?
Virginia employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Virginia may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Virginia minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Virginia income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services