Florida Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Florida Minimum Wage
Florida's state minimum wage rate is $11.00 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Florida, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Florida minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $4.21 from $6.79 to $11.00. Florida's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
The current minimum wage in Florida is $11.00 per hour. The tipped wage is $7.98 per hour. On November 3, 2020, Florida voters approved a state constitutional amendment to gradually increase the state's minimum wage each year until reaching $15.00 per hour on September 30, 2026.
An employee who has not received the lawful minimum wage after notifying his or her employer and giving the employer 15 days to resolve any claims for unpaid wages may bring a civil action in a court of law against an employer to recover back wages plus damages and attorney’s fees. An employer found liable for intentionally violating minimum wage requirements is subject to a fine of $1,000 per violation, payable to the State. The Attorney General, or other official designated by the Legislature, may bring a civil action to enforce the minimum wage.
Florida employers may not pay you under $11.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Florida minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Florida job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Florida employers must display an approved Florida minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Florida labor law.
Think the Florida Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Florida Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Florida labor law requires all employers in Florida to visibly display an approved Florida minimum wage poster, and other Florida and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Florida labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Florida labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Florida minimum wage poster, and additional required Florida labor law posters, are also available on the Florida labor law posters download page.
Florida Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Florida overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Florida law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all FL employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Florida Department of Labor.
Florida Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Florida-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Florida minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Florida Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Florida to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Florida Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $11.00 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Florida tipped minimum wage.
Local Minimum Wage Rates in Florida
While Florida's state minimum wage is $11.00 per hour, there are localities that have set their own, higher minimum wages that apply to some or all employees within their jurisdictions. The following is a table of all Florida localities with established minimum wage laws.
|Locality||Applies To||Minimum Wage||Comparison to State|
|Miami Beach||To be determined by the state supreme court in March of 2019.||$0.00||-$11.00|
Frequently Asked Questions - Florida Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Florida minimum wage?
The current Florida minimum wage of $11.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Florida can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Florida waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Florida?
A full time minimum wage worker in Florida working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $88.00 per day, $440.00 per week, and $22,880.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Florida under 18 minimum wage?
Florida employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Florida may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Florida minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Florida income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services