Ohio Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Ohio Minimum Wage
Ohio's state minimum wage rate is $10.10 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Ohio, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Ohio minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $3.10 from $7.00 to $10.10. Ohio's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
The current minimum wage in Ohio is $10.10 per hour. The tipped wage is $5.05. “Tipped Employees” includes any employee who engages in an occupation in which he/she customarily and regularly receives more than thirty dollars ($30.00) per month in tips. Employers electing to use the tip credit provision must be able to show that tipped employees receive at least the minimum wage when direct or cash wages and the tip credit amount are combined.
INDIVIDUALS EXEMPT FROM MINIMUM WAGE 1.Any individual employed by the United States; 2.Any individual employed as a baby-sitter in the employer’s home, or a live-in companion to a sick, convalescing, or elderly person whose principal duties do not include housekeeping; 3.Any individual employed as an outside salesman compensated by commissions or in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity, or computer professionals; 4.Any individual who volunteers to perform services for a public agency which is a State, a political subdivision of a State, or an interstate government agency, if (i)the individual receives no compensation or is paid expenses, reasonable benefits, or a nominal fee to perform the services for which the individual volunteered; and (ii)such services are not the same type of services which the individual is employed to perform for such public agency; 5.Any individual who works or provides personal services of a charitable nature in a hospital or health institution for which compensation is not sought or contemplated; 6.Any individual in the employ of a camp or recreational area for children under eighteen years of age and owned and operated by a non-profit organization or group of organizations. 7.Employees of a solely family owned and operated business who are family members of an owner. *For information about additional exemptions, please visit the Ohio Division of Industrial Compliance or U.S. Department of Labor websites.
Ohio employers may not pay you under $10.10 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Ohio minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Ohio job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Ohio employers must display an approved Ohio minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Ohio labor law.
Think the Ohio Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Ohio Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Ohio labor law requires all employers in Ohio to visibly display an approved Ohio minimum wage poster, and other Ohio and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Ohio labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Ohio labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get an Ohio all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Ohio and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Ohio and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Ohio minimum wage poster, and additional required Ohio labor law posters, are also available on the Ohio labor law posters download page.
Ohio Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Ohio overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Ohio law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all OH employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Ohio Department of Labor.
Ohio Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Ohio-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Ohio minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Ohio Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Ohio to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Ohio Student Minimum Wage - $8.59 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Ohio minimum wage (as little as $8.59 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Ohio Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $10.10 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Ohio tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Ohio Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Ohio minimum wage?
The current Ohio minimum wage of $10.10 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Ohio can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Ohio waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Ohio?
A full time minimum wage worker in Ohio working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $80.80 per day, $404.00 per week, and $21,008.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Ohio under 18 minimum wage?
Ohio employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Ohio may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Ohio minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Ohio income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $404.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $21,008.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.