Missouri Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Missouri Minimum Wage
Missouri's state minimum wage rate is $12.00 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Missouri, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Missouri minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $5.35 from $6.65 to $12.00. Missouri's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
Missouri's current minimum wage is $12.00 per hour. Employers engaged in retail or service businesses whose annual gross income is less than $500,000 are not required to pay the state minimum wage rate. Employers not subject to the minimum wage law can pay employees wages of their choosing. Missouri's minimum wage will increase 85 cents every year through 2023. The minimum wage for tipped employees is $6.00 per hour. Compensation for tipped employees must also total at least $12.00 per hour. Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the minimum wage, plus any amount necessary to bring the employee’s total compensation to a minimum of $12.00 per hour.
Missouri employers may not pay you under $12.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Missouri minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Missouri job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Missouri employers must display an approved Missouri minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Missouri labor law.
Think the Missouri Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Missouri Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Missouri labor law requires all employers in Missouri to visibly display an approved Missouri minimum wage poster, and other Missouri and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Missouri labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Missouri labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Missouri all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Missouri and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Missouri and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Missouri minimum wage poster, and additional required Missouri labor law posters, are also available on the Missouri labor law posters download page.
Missouri Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Missouri overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Missouri law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all MO employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Missouri Department of Labor.
Missouri Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Missouri-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Missouri minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Missouri Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Missouri to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Missouri Student Minimum Wage - $10.20 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Missouri minimum wage (as little as $10.20 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Missouri Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $12.00 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Missouri tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Missouri Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Missouri minimum wage?
The current Missouri minimum wage of $12.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Missouri can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Missouri waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Missouri?
A full time minimum wage worker in Missouri working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $96.00 per day, $480.00 per week, and $24,960.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Missouri under 18 minimum wage?
Missouri employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Missouri may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Missouri minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Missouri income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $480.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $24,960.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.