Mississippi Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Mississippi Minimum Wage
Mississippi's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Mississippi, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Mississippi minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25.
The current minimum wage in Mississippi is $7.25 per hour. Mississippi does not have a state minimum wage, so the Federal Minimum Wage is applicable to all businesses by default. Mississippi subscribes to the Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA), which is a federal statute.
Mississippi employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Mississippi minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Mississippi job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Mississippi employers must display an approved Mississippi minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Mississippi labor law.
Think the Mississippi Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Mississippi Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Mississippi labor law requires all employers in Mississippi to visibly display an approved Mississippi minimum wage poster, and other Mississippi and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Mississippi labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Mississippi labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Mississippi all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Mississippi and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Mississippi and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Mississippi minimum wage poster, and additional required Mississippi labor law posters, are also available on the Mississippi labor law posters download page.
Mississippi Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Mississippi overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Mississippi law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all MS employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Mississippi Department of Labor.
Mississippi Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Mississippi-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Mississippi minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Mississippi Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Mississippi to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Mississippi Student Minimum Wage - $6.16 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Mississippi minimum wage (as little as $6.16 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Mississippi Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Mississippi tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Mississippi Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Mississippi minimum wage?
The current Mississippi minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Mississippi can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Mississippi waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Mississippi?
A full time minimum wage worker in Mississippi working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Mississippi under 18 minimum wage?
Mississippi employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Mississippi may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Mississippi minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Mississippi income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $290.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $15,080.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.