Nebraska Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Nebraska Minimum Wage
Nebraska's state minimum wage rate is $10.50 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Nebraska, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Nebraska minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $3.95 from $6.55 to $10.50.
Nebraska's current minimum wage is $9.00 per hour. Any employer employing student-learners as part of a bona fide vocational training program shall pay such student-learners’ wages at a rate of at least 75% of the minimum wage rate. An employer may pay a new employee younger than 20 who is not a seasonal or migrant worker, a training wage of at least 75% of the federal minimum wage for 90 days from the date the new employee was hired. There are exemptions to the minimum wage rate as follows: Any individual employed in agriculture; Any individual employed as a baby-sitter in or about a private home; Any individual employed in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity or as a superintendent or supervisor; Any individual employed by the United States or by the state or any political subdivision thereof; Any individual engaged in the activities of an educational, charitable, religious, or nonprofit organization when the employer-employee relationship does not in fact exist or when the services rendered to such organization are on a voluntary basis; Apprentices and learners otherwise provided by law; Veterans in training under supervision of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs; A child in the employment of his or her parent or a parent in the employment of his or her child; or Any person who, directly or indirectly, is receiving any form of federal, state, county, or local aid or welfare and who is physically or mentally disabled and employed in a program of rehabilitation, who shall receive a wage at a level consistent with his or her health, efficiency, and general well-being . The tipped wage is $2.13 per hour, with the employer responsible for making up the difference between the actual hourly wage and gratuities paid to the employee and the current minimum wage.
Nebraska employers may not pay you under $10.50 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Nebraska minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Nebraska job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Nebraska employers must display an approved Nebraska minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Nebraska labor law.
Think the Nebraska Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Nebraska Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Nebraska labor law requires all employers in Nebraska to visibly display an approved Nebraska minimum wage poster, and other Nebraska and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Nebraska labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Nebraska labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Nebraska all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Nebraska and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Nebraska and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Nebraska minimum wage poster, and additional required Nebraska labor law posters, are also available on the Nebraska labor law posters download page.
Nebraska Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Nebraska overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Nebraska law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all NE employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Nebraska Department of Labor.
Nebraska Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Nebraska-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Nebraska minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Nebraska Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Nebraska to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Nebraska Student Minimum Wage - $8.93 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Nebraska minimum wage (as little as $8.93 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Nebraska Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $10.50 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Nebraska tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Nebraska Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Nebraska minimum wage?
The current Nebraska minimum wage of $10.50 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Nebraska can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Nebraska waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Nebraska?
A full time minimum wage worker in Nebraska working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $84.00 per day, $420.00 per week, and $21,840.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Nebraska under 18 minimum wage?
Nebraska employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Nebraska may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Nebraska minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Nebraska income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $420.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $21,840.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.