North Dakota Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: North Dakota Minimum Wage
North Dakota's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in North Dakota, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The North Dakota minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25.
The current minimum wage in North Dakota is $7.25 per hour. The North Dakota minimum wage is raised with the Federal Minimum Wage. Full time students and employees with disabilities may be paid less then the North Dakota Minimum Wage, provided their employer has a license from the North Dakota Department of Labor.
North Dakota employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the North Dakota minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free North Dakota job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All North Dakota employers must display an approved North Dakota minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under North Dakota labor law.
Think the North Dakota Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
North Dakota Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and North Dakota labor law requires all employers in North Dakota to visibly display an approved North Dakota minimum wage poster, and other North Dakota and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and North Dakota labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a North Dakota labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a North Dakota all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory North Dakota and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all North Dakota and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for June 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The North Dakota minimum wage poster, and additional required North Dakota labor law posters, are also available on the North Dakota labor law posters download page.
North Dakota Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about North Dakota overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (North Dakota law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all ND employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the North Dakota Department of Labor.
North Dakota Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any North Dakota-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the North Dakota minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- North Dakota Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in North Dakota to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- North Dakota Student Minimum Wage - $6.16 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the North Dakota minimum wage (as little as $6.16 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- North Dakota Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the North Dakota tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - North Dakota Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the North Dakota minimum wage?
The current North Dakota minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in North Dakota can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "North Dakota waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin North Dakota?
A full time minimum wage worker in North Dakota working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the North Dakota under 18 minimum wage?
North Dakota employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in North Dakota may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the North Dakota minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the North Dakota income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $290.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $15,080.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.