Pennsylvania Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Pennsylvania Minimum Wage
Pennsylvania's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Pennsylvania, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Pennsylvania minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.10 from $7.15 to $7.25.
The current minimum wage in Pennsylvania is $7.25 per hour, which is the current federal minimum wage. Special certificates can be obtained to pay learners or students as little as 85% of the minimum wage, or to pay certain disabled employees under the minimum wage. Students paid under the minimum wage may only work 20 hours a week. Approximately 8% of Pennsylvania's hourly workers are paid at or below the minimum wage.
Tipped minimum wage is $2.83 per hour. Pennsylvania utilizes the 80/20 rule as of August 5, 2022. Pennsylvania regulation permits employees to be a tipped employee as long as that employee does not spend more than 20% of the 7-day previously established work week performing duties that do not directly generate tips. Farm and domestic workers, seasonal camp or recreation employees, elected officials, paper deliverers, and golf caddies are all exempt from Pennsylvania's minimum wage and overtime laws. Employers are allowed to deduct the reasonable cost of lodging or board provided to an employee from their pay.
Pennsylvania employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Pennsylvania minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Pennsylvania job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Pennsylvania employers must display an approved Pennsylvania minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Pennsylvania labor law.
Think the Pennsylvania Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Pennsylvania Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Pennsylvania labor law requires all employers in Pennsylvania to visibly display an approved Pennsylvania minimum wage poster, and other Pennsylvania and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Pennsylvania labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Pennsylvania labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Pennsylvania all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Pennsylvania and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Pennsylvania and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Pennsylvania minimum wage poster, and additional required Pennsylvania labor law posters, are also available on the Pennsylvania labor law posters download page.
Pennsylvania Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Pennsylvania overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Pennsylvania law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all PA employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Pennsylvania Department of Labor.
Pennsylvania Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Pennsylvania-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Pennsylvania minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Pennsylvania Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Pennsylvania to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Pennsylvania Student Minimum Wage - $6.16 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Pennsylvania minimum wage (as little as $6.16 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Pennsylvania Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Pennsylvania tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Pennsylvania Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Pennsylvania minimum wage?
The current Pennsylvania minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Pennsylvania can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Pennsylvania waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Pennsylvania?
A full time minimum wage worker in Pennsylvania working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Pennsylvania under 18 minimum wage?
Pennsylvania employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Pennsylvania may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Pennsylvania minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Pennsylvania income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $290.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $15,080.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.