Connecticut Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Connecticut Minimum Wage
Connecticut's state minimum wage rate is $14.00 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Connecticut, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Connecticut minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $6.35 from $7.65 to $14.00.
Connecticut's minimum wage effective July 1, 2022 is $14.00 per hour. A law was passed in May of 2019 which Will gradually raise the Minimum Wage to $15.00 over several years, and then index it to the Federal Economic Indicators. Future increase: $15.00 on June 1, 2023.
The minimum wage for minors under the age of 18 is 85% of the current minimum wage, which can be paid indefinitely for minors working at farms or for the government and for the first 200 hours of employment for minors employed elsewhere. MINORS UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE EMPLOYED BY THE STATE OR POLITICAL SUBDIVISION THEREOF MAY BE PAID 85% OF THE APPLICABLE MINIMUM WAGE. MINORS UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE EMPLOYED IN AGRICULTURE MAY BE PAID 85% OF THE APPLICABLE MINIMUM WAGE. MINORS EMPLOYED BY AGRICULTURAL EMPLOYERS WHO DID NOT, DURING THE PRECEDING CALENDAR YEAR, EMPLOY EIGHT OR MORE WORKERS AT THE SAME TIME SHALL BE PAID A MINIMUM WAGE OF NOT LESS THAN 70% OF THE MINIMUM WAGE AS DEFINED IN SECTION 31-58. MINORS IN OTHER EMPLOYMENT - SEE SECTION 31-60-6.
Connecticut employers may not pay you under $14.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Connecticut minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Connecticut job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Connecticut employers must display an approved Connecticut minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Connecticut labor law.
Think the Connecticut Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Connecticut Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Connecticut labor law requires all employers in Connecticut to visibly display an approved Connecticut minimum wage poster, and other Connecticut and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Connecticut labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Connecticut labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Connecticut all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Connecticut and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Connecticut and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Connecticut minimum wage poster, and additional required Connecticut labor law posters, are also available on the Connecticut labor law posters download page.
Connecticut Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Connecticut overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Connecticut law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all CT employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Connecticut Department of Labor.
Connecticut Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Connecticut-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Connecticut minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Connecticut Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Connecticut to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Connecticut Student Minimum Wage - $11.90 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Connecticut minimum wage (as little as $11.90 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Connecticut Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $14.00 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Connecticut tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Connecticut Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Connecticut minimum wage?
The current Connecticut minimum wage of $14.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Connecticut can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Connecticut waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Connecticut?
A full time minimum wage worker in Connecticut working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $112.00 per day, $560.00 per week, and $29,120.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Connecticut under 18 minimum wage?
Connecticut employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Connecticut may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Connecticut minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Connecticut income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $560.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $29,120.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.