Louisiana Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Louisiana Minimum Wage
Louisiana's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Louisiana, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Louisiana minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25.
There is no state minimum wage law in Louisiana, so the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25 and labor law as specified in the FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) applies.
Louisiana employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Louisiana minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Louisiana job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Louisiana employers must display an approved Louisiana minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Louisiana labor law.
Think the Louisiana Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Louisiana Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Louisiana labor law requires all employers in Louisiana to visibly display an approved Louisiana minimum wage poster, and other Louisiana and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Louisiana labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Louisiana labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Louisiana all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Louisiana and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Louisiana and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Louisiana minimum wage poster, and additional required Louisiana labor law posters, are also available on the Louisiana labor law posters download page.
Louisiana Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Louisiana overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Louisiana law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all LA employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Louisiana Department of Labor.
Louisiana Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Louisiana-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Louisiana minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Louisiana Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Louisiana to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Louisiana Student Minimum Wage - $6.16 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Louisiana minimum wage (as little as $6.16 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Louisiana Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Louisiana tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Louisiana Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Louisiana minimum wage?
The current Louisiana minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Louisiana can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Louisiana waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Louisiana?
A full time minimum wage worker in Louisiana working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Louisiana under 18 minimum wage?
Louisiana employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Louisiana may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Louisiana minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Louisiana income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $290.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $15,080.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.