Montana Minimum Wage for 2018, 2019
Montana's state minimum wage rate is $8.50 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Montana, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Montana minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $1.95 from $6.55 to $8.50. Montana's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
The current minimum wage in Montana is $8.65 per hour as of January 1st 2020. There is no tipped wage. Montana's minimum wage is adjusted yearly based on a cost-of-living measurement taken on September 30th with the Consumer Price Index and effective on January 1 of the following year. Unlike other states, Montana does not allow a training wage lower then the minimum wage, does not permit employers to pay tipped workers less then the minimum wage.
The Montana Minimum Wage was raised 15 cents on January 1, 2015 from $7.90 per hour to $8.05 per hour. Montana's minimum wage was raised 10 cents in 2014, 15 cents in 2013, and 10 cents in 2012. The rate was automatically adjusted again on January 1 2016.
One notable exemption to the Montana minimum wage applies to small companies with less then $110,000 in annual sales. A business not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act whose gross annual sales are $110,000 or less may pay $4.00 per hour, however, if an individual employee is producing or moving goods between states or otherwise covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, that employee must be paid the greater of either the federal minimum wage or Montana’s minimum wage.
Montana employers may not pay you under $8.50 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Montana minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Montana job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Montana employers must display an approved Montana minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Montana labor law.
Think the Montana Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Montana Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Montana labor law requires all employers in Montana to visibly display an approved Montana minimum wage poster, and other Montana and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Montana labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Montana labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Montana minimum wage poster, and additional required Montana labor law posters, are also available on the Montana labor law posters download page.
Montana Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Montana overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Montana law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all MT employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Montana Department of Labor.
Montana Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Montana-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Montana minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Montana Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Montana to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Montana Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $8.50 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Montana tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Montana Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Montana minimum wage?
The current Montana minimum wage of $8.50 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Montana can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Montana waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Montana?
A full time minimum wage worker in Montana working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $68.00 per day, $340.00 per week, and $17,680.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Montana under 18 minimum wage?
Montana employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Montana may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Montana minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Montana income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services