Tennessee Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Tennessee Minimum Wage
Tennessee's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Tennessee, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Tennessee minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $1.67 from $5.58 to $7.25.
Tennessee's current minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. Tennessee does not have any state-specific labor laws relating to the minimum wage or overtime - a "promised wage law" does exist, however, requiring employers to promptly pay the wages promised to their employees. The Federal Minimum Wage and labor law as set by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act applies to most Tennessee workers.
Tennessee employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Tennessee minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Tennessee job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Tennessee employers must display an approved Tennessee minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Tennessee labor law.
Think the Tennessee Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Tennessee Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Tennessee labor law requires all employers in Tennessee to visibly display an approved Tennessee minimum wage poster, and other Tennessee and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Tennessee labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Tennessee labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Tennessee all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Tennessee and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Tennessee and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Tennessee minimum wage poster, and additional required Tennessee labor law posters, are also available on the Tennessee labor law posters download page.
Tennessee Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Tennessee overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Tennessee law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all TN employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Tennessee Department of Labor.
Tennessee Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Tennessee-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Tennessee minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Tennessee Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Tennessee to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Tennessee Student Minimum Wage - $6.16 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Tennessee minimum wage (as little as $6.16 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Tennessee Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Tennessee tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Tennessee Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Tennessee minimum wage?
The current Tennessee minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Tennessee can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Tennessee waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Tennessee?
A full time minimum wage worker in Tennessee working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Tennessee under 18 minimum wage?
Tennessee employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Tennessee may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Tennessee minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Tennessee income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $290.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $15,080.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.