Hawaii Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Hawaii Minimum Wage
Hawaii's state minimum wage rate is $12.00 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Hawaii, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Hawaii minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $4.75 from $7.25 to $12.00.
The current minimum wage in Hawaii is $12.00 per hour. The minimum wage will rise to $14.00 per hour on January 1, 2024, $16.00 per hour on January 1, 2026, and $18.00 per hour on January 1, 2028. The tipped wage is $11.00 per hour. The combined amount the employee receives from the employer and in tips must be at least $7.00 more than the applicable minimum wage. Therefore, for an employer to take the maximum tip credit of $1.00 per hour, the employee must average at least $8.00 per hour in tips
Hawaii employers may not pay you under $12.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Hawaii minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Hawaii job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Hawaii employers must display an approved Hawaii minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Hawaii labor law.
Think the Hawaii Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Hawaii Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Hawaii labor law requires all employers in Hawaii to visibly display an approved Hawaii minimum wage poster, and other Hawaii and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Hawaii labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Hawaii labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get a Hawaii all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Hawaii and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Hawaii and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for May 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Hawaii minimum wage poster, and additional required Hawaii labor law posters, are also available on the Hawaii labor law posters download page.
Hawaii Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Hawaii overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Hawaii law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all HI employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Hawaii Department of Labor.
Hawaii Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Hawaii-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Hawaii minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Hawaii Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Hawaii to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Hawaii Student Minimum Wage - $10.20 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Hawaii minimum wage (as little as $10.20 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Hawaii Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $12.00 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Hawaii tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Hawaii Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Hawaii minimum wage?
The current Hawaii minimum wage of $12.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Hawaii can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Hawaii waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Hawaii?
A full time minimum wage worker in Hawaii working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $96.00 per day, $480.00 per week, and $24,960.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Hawaii under 18 minimum wage?
Hawaii employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Hawaii may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Hawaii minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Hawaii income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $480.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $24,960.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.