Maryland Minimum Wage for 2018, 2019
Contents :: Maryland Minimum Wage
Maryland's state minimum wage rate is $10.10 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Maryland, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Maryland minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $3.55 from $6.55 to $10.10. Maryland's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
Maryland’s current minimum wage is $10.10 per hour as of July 1, 2018, with a proposed increase to $11 on July 1 2019. Future increases each July 1 will bring the Maryland minimum wage up to $15.00 per hour by July 2023. There are currently no further scheduled increases in minimum wage. This increased the minimum wage from $8.25 per hour. Maryland raised their minimum wage to $8.00 per hour in January 2015, the first time it was raised above the Federal Minimum Wage. Future minimum wage raises are scheduled to $8.25 per hour on July 1, 2015, $8.75 per hour on July 1, 2016, $9.25 on July 1, 2017, and $10.10 on July 1, 2018. Before these raises were enacted, Maryland adopted the current Federal Minimum Wage rate by reference. One notable exception to the Maryland minimum wage any small food service business (such as restaurants, taverns, and drug stores) grossing under $250,000 a year.
LOCAL MINIMUM WAGE
- Montgomery County has a current minimum wage of $9.55 per hour, increasing to $9.25 (7-1-16) and $11.50 (7-1-17).
- Prince George County has a current minimum wage of $9.55 per hour, increasing to $10.75 (7-1-16), and $11.50 (7-1-17).
Other exceptions to Maryland's minimum wage include agricultural employees, movie theater and drive-in workers, food canning laborers, part-time employees under age 16 (working up to 20 hours a week) and part-time workers over age 62 (working less then 25 hours a week).
Maryland employers may not pay you under $10.10 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Maryland minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Maryland job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Maryland employers must display an approved Maryland minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Maryland labor law.
Think the Maryland Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Maryland Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Maryland labor law requires all employers in Maryland to visibly display an approved Maryland minimum wage poster, and other Maryland and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Maryland labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Maryland labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Maryland minimum wage poster, and additional required Maryland labor law posters, are also available on the Maryland labor law posters download page.
Maryland Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Maryland overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Maryland law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all MD employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Maryland Department of Labor.
Maryland Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Maryland-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Maryland minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Maryland Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Maryland to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Maryland Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $10.10 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Maryland tipped minimum wage.
Local Minimum Wage Rates in Maryland
While Maryland's state minimum wage is $10.10 per hour, there are localities that have set their own, higher minimum wages that apply to some or all employees within their jurisdictions. The following is a table of all Maryland localities with established minimum wage laws.
|Locality||Applies To||Minimum Wage||Comparison to State|
|Montgomery County||51 or more employees. Workers 18 and under working under 20 hours per week are exempt.||$13.00||+$2.90|
|less than 50 employees. Workers 18 and under working under 20 hours per week are exempt.||$12.50||+$2.40|
|Prince George's County||All employees||$11.50||+$1.40|
Frequently Asked Questions - Maryland Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Maryland minimum wage?
The current Maryland minimum wage of $10.10 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Maryland can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Maryland waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Maryland?
A full time minimum wage worker in Maryland working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $80.80 per day, $404.00 per week, and $21,008.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Maryland under 18 minimum wage?
Maryland employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Maryland may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Maryland minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Maryland income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services