Utah Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Utah Minimum Wage
Utah's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Utah, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Utah minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25.
Utah does not have a state-specific minimum wage, and adopts the current Federal Minimum Wage by reference. Utah allows a training minimum wage of $4.25 per hour to be paid to minor employees for their first 90 days of employment.
Utah allows a special tipped minimum wage to be paid to any tipped employees earning over $30 a month in tips, with the exception of chefs, janitors, and dishwashers.
Utah employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Utah minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Utah job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Utah employers must display an approved Utah minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Utah labor law.
Think the Utah Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Utah Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Utah labor law requires all employers in Utah to visibly display an approved Utah minimum wage poster, and other Utah and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Utah labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Utah labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get an Utah all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Utah and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Utah and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Utah minimum wage poster, and additional required Utah labor law posters, are also available on the Utah labor law posters download page.
Utah Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Utah overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Utah law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all UT employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Utah Department of Labor.
Utah Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Utah-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Utah minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Utah Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Utah to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Utah Student Minimum Wage - $6.16 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Utah minimum wage (as little as $6.16 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Utah Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Utah tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Utah Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Utah minimum wage?
The current Utah minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Utah can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Utah waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Utah?
A full time minimum wage worker in Utah working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Utah under 18 minimum wage?
Utah employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Utah may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Utah minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Utah income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $290.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $15,080.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.