Kansas Minimum Wage for 2016, 2017
Kansas' state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Kansas, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Kansas minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25. Kansas' minimum wage rate is linked to a Customer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
Kansas' minimum wage, which was $2.65 (the lowest in America) for years, was finally raised to $7.25 in 2010. Kansas excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
Kansas employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Kansas minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Kansas job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Kansas employers must display an approved Kansas minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Kansas labor law.
Think the Kansas Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Kansas Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Kansas labor law requires all employers in Kansas to visibly display an approved Kansas minimum wage poster, and other Kansas and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Kansas labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Kansas labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Kansas minimum wage poster, and additional required Kansas labor law posters, are also available on the Kansas labor law posters download page.
Kansas Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Kansas overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Kansas law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all KS employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Kansas Department of Labor.
Kansas Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Kansas-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Kansas minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Kansas Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Kansas to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Kansas Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Kansas tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Kansas Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Kansas minimum wage?
The current Kansas minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Kansas can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Kansas waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Kansas?
A full time minimum wage worker in Kansas working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Kansas under 18 minimum wage?
Kansas employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Kansas may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Kansas minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Kansas income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services