Texas Minimum Wage for 2018, 2019
Texas' state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Texas, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Texas minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25. Texas' minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
The current minimum wage in Texas is $7.25 per hour. Texas does not have a state-specific minimum wage, and adopts the Federal Minimum Wage by reference. Employers are allowed to deduct the reasonable cost of meals and lodging provided to their employees.
Texas defines tipped employees as employees earning $20 or more in tips a month, rather then the $30/month specified in the FLSA. Standard exemptions to the Texas Minimum Wage include domestic employees, farm and ranch workers, prison inmates, full time students, and certain seasonal recreation establishments.
Texas employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Texas minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Texas job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Texas employers must display an approved Texas minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Texas labor law.
Think the Texas Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Texas Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Texas labor law requires all employers in Texas to visibly display an approved Texas minimum wage poster, and other Texas and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Texas labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Texas labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Texas minimum wage poster, and additional required Texas labor law posters, are also available on the Texas labor law posters download page.
Texas Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Texas overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Texas law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all TX employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Texas Department of Labor.
Texas Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Texas-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Texas minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Texas Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Texas to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Texas Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Texas tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Texas Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Texas minimum wage?
The current Texas minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Texas can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Texas waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Texas?
A full time minimum wage worker in Texas working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Texas under 18 minimum wage?
Texas employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Texas may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Texas minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Texas income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services