Arizona Minimum Wage for 2022, 2023
Contents :: Arizona Minimum Wage
Arizona's state minimum wage rate is $13.85 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Arizona, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Arizona minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $6.95 from $6.90 to $13.85. Arizona's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
Arizona's current minimum wage is $13.85 The tipped wage is $10.85 per hour.
The minimum wage rate does not apply to any person who is employed by a parent or a sibling; any person who is employed performing babysitting services in the employer’s home on a casual basis; any person employed by the State of Arizona or the United States government; or any person employed in a small business that grosses less than $500,000 in annual revenue, if that small business is exempt from having to pay a minimum wage under section 206(a) of title 29 of the United States Code. LOCAL MINIMUM WAGES IN Arizona
In recent years many cities and municipalities across the country have established their own minimum wage rates. Here is a list of the current rates:
- Flagstaff: $16.80 Tipped wage is $14.80.
- Tucson: as of January 1, 2023 the minimum wage is $13.85 Tipped wage is $10.85.
Tipped employees For any employee who customarily and regularly receives tips or gratuities, an employer may pay tipped employees a maximum of $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage if the employer can establish by its records that for each week, when adding tips received to wages paid, the employee received not less than the minimum wage for all hours worked. Certain other conditions must be met.
Arizona employers may not pay you under $13.85 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Arizona minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Arizona job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Arizona employers must display an approved Arizona minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Arizona labor law.
Think the Arizona Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Arizona Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Arizona labor law requires all employers in Arizona to visibly display an approved Arizona minimum wage poster, and other Arizona and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Arizona labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Arizona labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Get an Arizona all-in-one labor law poster
Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Arizona and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Arizona and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!Get All-In-One Poster Now
The Arizona minimum wage poster, and additional required Arizona labor law posters, are also available on the Arizona labor law posters download page.
Arizona Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Arizona overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Arizona law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all AZ employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Arizona Department of Labor.
Arizona Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Arizona-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Arizona minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Arizona Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Arizona to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Arizona Student Minimum Wage - $11.77 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Arizona minimum wage (as little as $11.77 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
- Arizona Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $13.85 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Arizona tipped minimum wage.
Local Minimum Wage Rates in Arizona
While Arizona's state minimum wage is $13.85 per hour, there are localities that have set their own, higher minimum wages that apply to some or all employees within their jurisdictions. The following is a table of all Arizona localities with established minimum wage laws.
|Locality||Applies To||Minimum Wage||Comparison to State|
Frequently Asked Questions - Arizona Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Arizona minimum wage?
The current Arizona minimum wage of $13.85 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Arizona can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Arizona waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Arizona?
A full time minimum wage worker in Arizona working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $110.80 per day, $554.00 per week, and $28,808.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Arizona under 18 minimum wage?
Arizona employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Arizona may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Arizona minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Arizona income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:
- The weekly earnings estimate of $554.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
- The yearly earnings estimate of $28,808.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.