Georgia Minimum Wage for 2016, 2017
Georgia's state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Georgia, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.†
The Georgia minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.70 from $6.55 to $7.25. Georgia's minimum wage rate is linked to a Customer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.
Georgia's minimum wage laws are applicable to businesses with six or more employees. Because Georgia's minimum wage has not been updated in some time, it is lower then the Federal Minimum Wage and thus rendered obsolete. Federal minimum wage takes precedence in Georgia.
Georgia employers may not pay you under $7.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
If you have questions about the Georgia minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Georgia job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
All Georgia employers must display an approved Georgia minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Georgia labor law.
Think the Georgia Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Georgia Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Georgia labor law requires all employers in Georgia to visibly display an approved Georgia minimum wage poster, and other Georgia and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Georgia labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Georgia labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
The Georgia minimum wage poster, and additional required Georgia labor law posters, are also available on the Georgia labor law posters download page.
Georgia Overtime Minimum Wage
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about Georgia overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Georgia law does not specify a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all GA employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Georgia Department of Labor.
Georgia Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Georgia-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Georgia minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
- Georgia Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Georgia to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
- Georgia Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $7.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Georgia tipped minimum wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Georgia Minimum Wage & Labor Law
- What is the Georgia minimum wage?
The current Georgia minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Georgia can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Georgia waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
- How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin Georgia?
A full time minimum wage worker in Georgia working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week, and $15,080.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.
- What is the Georgia under 18 minimum wage?
Georgia employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Georgia may exist.
- I still can't find the answer to my question about the Georgia minimum wage!
1 These earnings estimates do not account for the Georgia income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services