A record 19 states have raised their minimum wage in January 2017, with increases in 2 other states and the District of Columbia set for July 2017! Note to employers: You must update your minimum wage posters
Florida's minimum wage is $8.10 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage. You are entitled to be paid the higher wage.
The minimum wage is $8.10 per hour for most employees in Florida, with exceptions for tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.
Florida's minimum wage rate is modified annually based upon an inflation and cost of living formula. The Florida minimum wage was raised to $8.10 per hour on January 1 2017 and has increased .05 cents over the 2016 rate. The Florida minimum wage was $7.93 per hour in 2014, $7.79 per hour in 2013, and $7.67 per hour in 2012. Due to the inflation and cost of living formula used, a minimum wage increase did not occur in January 2016.
Florida employers may not pay you under $8.10 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
In his 2014 State of the Union address, President Barack Obama called on Congress to raise the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour, and promised to raise the minimum wage for federal workers to $10.10 via executive order. Obama previously called on Congress to raise the federal minimum wage to $9.00 per hour in his 2013 State of the Union. However, due to partisan stall in Congress, it is unlikely that the federal minimum wage will be raised from $7.25 in the near future.
All Florida employers must display an approved Florida minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Florida labor law.
If you have questions about the Florida minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Florida job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
Think the Florida Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Florida wage data last updated
Florida Minimum Wage & Labor Law Compliance Posters
Notification: Mandatory Labor Law Poster Updates
A record 19 states have raised their minimum wage in January 2017, with more changes coming in July 2017!. All employers in these states must display updated labor law posters with the new minimum wage rate.
Professional Florida Labor Law Posters - Updated for 2017
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Florida labor law requires all employers in Florida to visibly display an approved Florida minimum wage poster, and other Florida and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Florida labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Florida labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about overtime pay in Florida). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Florida does not have a daily overtime limit).
In addition to any Florida-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Florida minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
Florida Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Florida to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
Florida Student Minimum Wage - $6.89 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Florida minimum wage (as little as $6.89 per hour)
for up to 20 hours of work at certain employers.
Florida Tipped Minimum Wage - $5.08 - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a special cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $8.10 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Florida tipped wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Florida Minimum Wage & Labor Law
The current Florida minimum wage of $8.10 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Florida can legally be paid for hourly work.
Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Florida waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
How much will I earn working a minimum wage job in Florida?
A full time minimum wage worker in Florida working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $64.80 per day,
$324.00 per week, and $16,848.00 per year1.
The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $14,570 per year.
What is the Florida under 18 minimum wage?
Florida employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Florida may exist.
I still can't find the answer to my question about the Florida minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These estimates do not account for the Florida income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.