Vermont Minimum Wage 2014, 2015
New 2015 Minimum Wage Rates Added
Twenty states have raised their Minimum Wage rates as of January 1st 2015.
VT Minimum Wage
Vermont's minimum wage is $9.15 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage. You are entitled to be paid the higher wage.
The minimum wage is $9.15 per hour for most employees in Vermont, with exceptions for tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.
Vermont's minimum wage has been raised yearly since 2005 based on an inflation and cost-of-living index, with a minimum yearly raise of 5%. The Vermont minimum wage was raised 42 cents from $8.73 to $9.15 on January 1 2014. The minimum wage was last raised 13 cents in 2014, 14 cents in 2013 and 31 cents in 2012, and will be raised again on January 1, 2016. The Vermont minimum wage is currently scheduled to increase to $9.60 per hour on January 1, 2016, $10.00 on January 1, 2017, and $10.50 on January 1, 2018.
Vermont allows tipped employees at hotels & motels, tourist places, and restaurants who earn more then $120 a month in tips to be paid a special cash minimum wage. High school students, nonprofit employees, taxi drivers, agricultural and domestic workers, and government employees are exempt from Vermont's minimum wage laws.
Vermont employers may not pay you under $9.15 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
In his 2014 State of the Union address, President Barack Obama called on Congress to raise the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour, and promised to raise the minimum wage for federal workers to $10.10 via executive order. Obama previously called on Congress to raise the federal minimum wage to $9.00 per hour in his 2013 State of the Union. However, due to partisan stall in Congress, it is unlikely that the federal minimum wage will be raised from $7.25 in the near future.
All Vermont employers must display an approved Vermont minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Vermont labor law.
If you have questions about the Vermont minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Vermont job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
Vermont wage data last updated
Vermont Minimum Wage & Labor Law Compliance Posters
Notification: Mandatory Labor Law Poster Updates
Twenty states have new minimum wages as of January 2015. All employers in these states must display updated labor law posters with the new minimum wage rate.
Professional Vermont Labor Law Posters - Updated for 2015
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Vermont labor law requires all employers in Vermont to visibly display an approved Vermont minimum wage poster, and other Vermont and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Vermont labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Vermont labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
Updated for 2015 - 24x36 heavy laminated Vermont all-in-one labor law compliance poster including Vermont minimum wage law and all mandatory workplace notices for full FLSA compliance.
$24.99For a 5% discount, use coupon update2015 at checkout
The Vermont minimum wage poster, and additional required Vermont labor law posters, are also available on the
Vermont labor law posters download page.
Vermont Overtime Minimum Wage
VT Overtime Wage
Daily Hours: N/A
Weekly Hours: 40
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about overtime pay in Vermont). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Vermont does not have a daily overtime limit).
The FLSA guarantees all VT employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the Vermont Department of Labor.
Vermont Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to any Vermont-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Vermont minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
Vermont Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Vermont to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
Vermont Student Minimum Wage - $7.78 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Vermont minimum wage (as little as $7.78 per hour)
for up to 20 hours of work at certain employers.
Vermont Tipped Minimum Wage - $4.58 - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a special cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $9.15 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Vermont tipped wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Vermont Minimum Wage & Labor Law
What is minimum wage in Vermont?
The current Vermont minimum wage of $9.15 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Vermont can legally be paid for hourly work.
Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Vermont waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
How much will I earn working a minimum wage job in Vermont?
A full time minimum wage worker in Vermont working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $73.20 per day,
$366.00 per week, and $19,032.00 per year1.
The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $14,570 per year.
What is the Vermont under 18 minimum wage?
Vermont employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Vermont may exist.
I still can't find the answer to my question about the Vermont minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
These estimates do not account for the Vermont income tax
, federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
The current Vermont Min. Wage is $9.15 per hour as of 2015