Illinois's minimum wage is $8.25 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage. You are entitled to be paid the higher wage.
The minimum wage is $8.25 per hour for most employees in Illinois, with exceptions for tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.
The Illinois minimum wage is $8.25 per hour. Minors under age 18 may be paid a minimum wage of 7.75 per hour. Tipped employees must be paid minimum wage, but an employer may take credit for the employee's tips in an amount not to exceed 40% of the wages. An employer may pay a training wage for tipped employees 18 and over in the amount of $4.65 for the first 90 days if applying the tip credit of 40% or $7.75 if utilizing the tip credit.
LOCAL MINIMUM WAGEChicago: Has a current minimum wage of $10.00 per hour with a .50 raise every July 1st beginning 2016 through 2019.
Illinois supports a number of exemptions to the minimum wage besides the two mentioned above, such as special exemptions for disabled workers employed in sheltered workshop environments.
Illinois employers may not pay you under $8.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.
In his 2014 State of the Union address, President Barack Obama called on Congress to raise the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour, and promised to raise the minimum wage for federal workers to $10.10 via executive order. Obama previously called on Congress to raise the federal minimum wage to $9.00 per hour in his 2013 State of the Union. However, due to partisan stall in Congress, it is unlikely that the federal minimum wage will be raised from $7.25 in the near future.
All Illinois employers must display an approved Illinois minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under Illinois labor law.
If you have questions about the Illinois minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free Illinois job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.
Think the Illinois Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!
Illinois wage data last updated
Illinois Minimum Wage & Labor Law Compliance Posters
Notification: Mandatory Labor Law Poster Updates
Fourteen states have new minimum wages as of January 2016. All employers in these states must display updated labor law posters with the new minimum wage rate.
Professional Illinois Labor Law Posters - Updated for 2016
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Illinois labor law requires all employers in Illinois to visibly display an approved Illinois minimum wage poster, and other Illinois and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Illinois labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a Illinois labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.
All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage (learn more about overtime pay in Illinois). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (Illinois does not have a daily overtime limit).
In addition to any Illinois-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the Illinois minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:
Illinois Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Illinois to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
Illinois Student Minimum Wage - $7.01 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Illinois minimum wage (as little as $7.01 per hour)
for up to 20 hours of work at certain employers.
Illinois Tipped Minimum Wage - $4.95 - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a special cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $8.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Illinois tipped wage.
Frequently Asked Questions - Illinois Minimum Wage & Labor Law
The current Illinois minimum wage of $8.25 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in Illinois can legally be paid for hourly work.
Special minimum wage rates, such as the "Illinois waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.
How much will I earn working a minimum wage job in Illinois?
A full time minimum wage worker in Illinois working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $66.00 per day,
$330.00 per week, and $17,160.00 per year1.
The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $14,570 per year.
What is the Illinois under 18 minimum wage?
Illinois employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in Illinois may exist.
I still can't find the answer to my question about the Illinois minimum wage!
If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.
1 These estimates do not account for the Illinois income tax , federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.