Alabama:

Alabama Unpaid Overtime Claiming Unpaid Overtime Wages in Alabama

Hourly Overtime Minimum Wage
$10.88 / hour
Daily Overtime Limit1
N/A
Weekly Overtime Limit2
40 hours / week


Am I eligible to collect unpaid overtime from my employer?

The Alabama overtime minimum wage is $10.88 per hour, one and a half times the regular minimum wage of $7.25. If you earn more then the Alabama minimum wage rate of $7.25, you are entitled to at least 1.5 times your regular hourly wage for all overtime worked.

If your employer has failed to pay you a proper overtime wage for any amount of qualifying overtime worked, you are eligible to receive back wages and possibly additional damages from your employer.

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) explicitly protects Alabama workers who file an overtime complaint from being penalized by their employer for filing the complaint with threats, suspension, or firing. The statute of limitations for filing an overtime claim is two years, although this is increased to three years in the case that your employer willfully and knowingly broke the law in failing to compensate you for overtime worked.

How can I collect back wages if my employer owes me overtime?

After checking to ensure that your job is not exempt from overtime under Alabama law, the next step to take in filing an unpaid overtime claim is submitting an official complaint including all pertinent information to your local Department of Labor office. If the Alabama Department of Labor cannot solve your overtime case, you can file a civil claim with the Alabama state court system by levying an unpaid overtime lawsuit against your employer.

Alabama Overtime Lawsuits Contacting the Department of Labor in Alabama Regarding Unpaid Overtime

If you believe you are owed unpaid overtime, or think your employer is not complying with other labor laws, your first point of contact is your local field office of the Federal Department of Labor. There are three field offices located in Alabama.

Contact the office nearest to you, and they will be able to advise you of your legal rights and your next steps. You may want to have your employer's information and any relevant paystubs available. Remember, it is illegal for your employer to punish you for speaking to the Department of Labor! You can find contact information for the Alabama Department of Labor here.


Gulf Coast District Office

US Dept. of Labor Wage & Hour Division The Forum Building, Suite 605 950 22nd Street North Birmingham, AL 35203-3711

Kenneth Stripling, District Director

P: (205) 536-8570

Mobile Alabama Area Office

1141 Montlimar Drive Paramont Center Building Suite 1008 Mobile, AL 36609

Patricia Chambers, Assistant District Director

P: (251) 441-5311

Montgomery Area Office

4001 Carmichael Road, Suite 215 Montgomery, AL 36106-3603

Yvette Davis, Assistant District Director

P: (334) 223-7450


Alabama Min Wage - $7.25 per hour as of 2019


** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/alabama/unpaid-overtime