Minimum wage rates for every state for 2017 Overtime Working Hour Cutoffs by State

Overtime pay, also known as time-and-a-half pay, is a special pay rate of 1.5 times the normal hourly rate that must be paid paid to many hourly employees when they work over a certain amount of time in a given day or week. Overtime is mandated for covered employees under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), as well as by many state labor departments.

Minimum-Wage.org maintains a database of state overtime cutoffs and laws for your reference. You can also see Federal overtime regulations, and learn more about overtime pay here.

2017 minimum wage rates by state 2017 State Overtime Laws

State Name Overtime Minimum Wage Weekly Overtime Hours Daily Overtime Hours
Alabama $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Alaska $14.70 / hour 40 hours / week 8 hours / day
Arizona $15.00 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Arkansas $12.75 / hour 40 hours / week 12 hours / day
California $15.75 / hour 40 hours / week 15 hours / day
Colorado $13.95 / hour 40 hours / week 12 hours / day
Connecticut $15.15 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Delaware $12.38 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Florida $12.15 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Georgia $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Hawaii $13.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Idaho $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Illinois $12.38 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Indiana $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Iowa $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Kansas $10.88 / hour 46 hours / week N/A
Kentucky $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Louisiana $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Maine $13.50 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Maryland $13.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Massachusetts $16.50 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Michigan $13.35 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Minnesota $14.25 / hour 48 hours / week N/A
Mississippi $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Missouri $11.55 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Montana $12.23 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Nebraska $13.50 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Nevada $12.38 / hour 40 hours / week 8 hours / day
New Hampshire $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
New Jersey $12.66 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
New Mexico $11.25 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
New York $14.55 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
North Carolina $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
North Dakota $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Ohio $12.23 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Oklahoma $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Oregon $15.38 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Pennsylvania $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Rhode Island $14.40 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
South Carolina $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
South Dakota $12.98 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Tennessee $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Texas $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Utah $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Vermont $15.00 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Virginia $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Washington $16.50 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
West Virginia $13.13 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Wisconsin $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Wyoming $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A
Puerto Rico $9.83 / hour 40 hours / week 8 hours / day
District of Columbia $18.75 / hour 40 hours / week 8 hours / day
Federal $10.88 / hour 40 hours / week N/A

Disclaimer: Minimum-Wage.org is a private resource website. While we do our best to keep this list of state overtime laws up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors. Is any data on this page missing or out-of-date? Please let us know so we can fix it!

** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/overtime