List of minimum wage rates for every state for 2017 List of Minimum Wage Rates by State 2017

The minimum wage, the lowest hourly amount that an employee may be paid for their labor, is determined by both state and Federal labor laws in the United States. Under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, states and localities are permitted to set their own minimum wage rates, which will take precedence over the Federal minimum wage rate if they are higher.

In states that do not set a minimum wage rate, or have an antiquated minimum wage rate that is less than the rate set by the Federal government, the Federal minimum wage rate will take precedence and apply to all employees within that state.

The table below lists the current prevailing 2017 minimum wage rates for every state in the United States. Click any state for details about the minimum wage, exemptions, and other state labor laws. You can find a list of highest and lowest minimum wage rates here.

2017 minimum wage by state 2017 Minimum Wage Rates By State

State Name Minimum Wage Rate Department Name Rate Adjusted Yearly
Alabama $7.25 / hour Alabama Department of Labor
Alaska $9.80 / hour Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Arizona $10.00 / hour Industrial Commission of Arizona
Arkansas $8.50 / hour Arkansas Department of Labor
California $10.50 / hour California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement and the Office of the Labor Commissioner
Colorado $9.30 / hour Colorado Department of Labor and Employment
Connecticut $10.10 / hour Connecticut Department of Labor
Delaware $8.25 / hour Delaware Department of Labor
District of Columbia $11.50 / hour District of Columbia Department of Employment Services
Federal $7.25 / hour Federal Department of Labor
Florida $8.10 / hour Florida Division of Workforce Services
Georgia $7.25 / hour Georgia Department of Labor
Hawaii $9.25 / hour Hawaii Department of Labor & Industrial Relations
Idaho $7.25 / hour Idaho Department of Labor
Illinois $8.25 / hour Illinois Department of Labor
Indiana $7.25 / hour Indiana Department of Labor
Iowa $7.25 / hour Iowa Labor Services Division
Kansas $7.25 / hour Kansas Department of Labor
Kentucky $7.25 / hour Kentucky Labor Cabinet
Louisiana $7.25 / hour Louisiana Workforce Commission
Maine $9.00 / hour Maine Department of Labor
Maryland $9.25 / hour Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Massachusetts $11.00 / hour Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor & Workforce Development
Michigan $8.90 / hour Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA)
Minnesota $9.50 / hour Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
Mississippi $7.25 / hour Mississippi Department of Employment Security
Missouri $7.70 / hour Missouri Labor and Industrial Relations Commission
Montana $8.15 / hour Montana Department of Labor and Industry
Nebraska $9.00 / hour Nebraska Department of Labor
Nevada $8.25 / hour Nevada Department of Business and Industry
New Hampshire $7.25 / hour New Hampshire Department of Labor
New Jersey $8.44 / hour New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
New Mexico $7.50 / hour New Mexico Department of Work Force Solutions
New York $9.70 / hour New York Department of Labor
North Carolina $7.25 / hour North Carolina Department of Labor
North Dakota $7.25 / hour North Dakota Department of Labor
Ohio $8.15 / hour Ohio Department of Commerce
Oklahoma $7.25 / hour Oklahoma Department of Labor
Oregon $9.75 / hour Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries
Pennsylvania $7.25 / hour Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry
Puerto Rico $6.55 / hour Puerto Rico Department of Labor and Human Resources
Rhode Island $9.60 / hour Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
South Carolina $7.25 / hour South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulations
South Dakota $8.65 / hour South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
Tennessee $7.25 / hour Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development
Texas $7.25 / hour Texas Workforce Commission
Utah $7.25 / hour Utah Labor Commission
Vermont $10.00 / hour Vermont Department of Labor
Virginia $7.25 / hour Virginia Department of Labor and Industry
Washington $11.00 / hour Washington Department of Labor and Industries
West Virginia $8.75 / hour West Virginia Division of Labor
Wisconsin $7.25 / hour Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development
Wyoming $7.25 / hour Wyoming Department of Workforce Service

Get a Federal all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory state and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all federal posting requirements. Fully updated for May 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

Disclaimer: Minimum-Wage.org is a private resource website. While we do our best to keep this list of state minimum wage rate laws up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors. Is any data on this page missing or out-of-date? Please let us know so we can fix it!

** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/wage-by-state