Tipped minimum wage rates for every state for 2017 Tipped Minimum Wage Laws by State 2017

Tipped employees, such as waitresses and bartenders, may sometimes be paid a cash wage that is lower than the prevailing minimum wage through a system known as a tip credit.

In states that allow a tip credit, a certain amount of received tips per hour may be credited against the minimum wage by an employer, although the tipped employee must receive at least the minimum wage (with combined cash wage and tips) each hour. Minimum-Wage.org maintains a database of state tipped minimum wage laws, allowed tip credits, and minimum cash wages for all states.

2017 minimum wage rates by state 2017 State Tipped Minimum Wage Laws

State Name Basic Combined Minimum Wage Maximum Tip Credit Minimum Cash Wage
Alabama $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Alaska $9.80 / hour No tip credit allowed
Arizona $10.00 / hour $3.00 / hour $7.00 / hour
Arkansas $8.50 / hour $5.87 / hour $2.63 / hour
California $10.50 / hour (see 2 wage types) No tip credit allowed
Colorado $9.30 / hour $3.02 / hour $6.23 / hour
Connecticut $10.10 / hour (see 2 wage types) $1.87 / hour $8.23 / hour
Delaware $8.25 / hour $6.02 / hour $2.23 / hour
District of Columbia $11.50 / hour $8.73 / hour $2.77 / hour
Federal $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Florida $8.10 / hour $3.02 / hour $5.08 / hour
Georgia $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Hawaii $9.25 / hour $0.75 / hour $8.50 / hour
Idaho $7.25 / hour $3.90 / hour $3.35 / hour
Illinois $8.25 / hour $3.30 / hour $4.95 / hour
Indiana $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Iowa $7.25 / hour $2.90 / hour $4.35 / hour
Kansas $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Kentucky $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Louisiana $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Maine $9.00 / hour $4.00 / hour $5.00 / hour
Maryland $8.75 / hour $5.12 / hour $3.63 / hour
Massachusetts $11.00 / hour $7.25 / hour $3.75 / hour
Michigan $8.90 / hour $5.52 / hour $3.38 / hour
Minnesota $9.50 / hour (see 2 wage types) No tip credit allowed
Mississippi $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Missouri $7.70 / hour $3.85 / hour $3.85 / hour
Montana $8.15 / hour (see 2 wage types) No tip credit allowed
Nebraska $9.00 / hour $6.87 / hour $2.13 / hour
Nevada $7.25 / hour (see 2 wage types) No tip credit allowed
New Hampshire $7.25 / hour $4.00 / hour $3.25 / hour
New Jersey $8.44 / hour $6.31 / hour $2.13 / hour
New Mexico $7.50 / hour $5.37 / hour $2.13 / hour
New York $9.00 / hour (see 3 wage types) $3.05 / hour $7.35 / hour
North Carolina $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
North Dakota $7.25 / hour $2.39 / hour $4.86 / hour
Ohio $8.15 / hour $4.07 / hour $4.08 / hour
Oklahoma $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Oregon $9.75 / hour No tip credit allowed
Pennsylvania $7.25 / hour $4.42 / hour $2.83 / hour
Puerto Rico $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Rhode Island $9.60 / hour $5.71 / hour $3.39 / hour
South Carolina $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
South Dakota $8.65 / hour $4.32 / hour $4.32 / hour
Tennessee $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Texas $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Utah $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Vermont $10.00 / hour $5.00 / hour $5.00 / hour
Virginia $7.25 / hour $5.12 / hour $2.13 / hour
Washington $11.00 / hour No tip credit allowed
West Virginia $8.75 / hour $6.13 / hour $2.62 / hour
Wisconsin $7.25 / hour $4.92 / hour $2.33 / hour
Wyoming $5.15 / hour $3.02 / hour $2.13 / hour

Disclaimer: Minimum-Wage.org is a private resource website. While we do our best to keep this list of state tipped minimum wage laws up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors. Is any data on this page missing or out-of-date? Please let us know so we can fix it!

** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/tipped