Florida Child Labor in Agriculture & Farming
Child labor laws on Florida and Federal levels have special provisions that apply to minors working in the agricultural industry, including working as farm hands, harvesting fruit or vegetables, etc. In many states, agricultural child labor laws focus on safety and tend to be less restrictive in terms of working hours than general child labor regulations.
In most cases, agricultural child labor laws do not apply to children working on their family's farm. Many traditionally agricultural states have less restrictive child labor laws in this area.
Florida Agricultural Child Labor Age RestrictionsAccording to Florida state law, there are no age restrictions for minors working in agriculture during school hours. The minimum age at which a minor may work in agriculture outside of school hours is 14.
Minor Employment Certificate Requirements in FloridaNo employment certificate is required for minors working in agriculture under Florida laws. Age certification is required for minors working in agriculture who are under the age of 18 (only proof of age is required).
Florida Agricultural Child Labor Restrictions on Working Hours
Maximum Working Hours for Minors Under 16
During a non-school period 8 hours can be worked a day and 40 hours per week. Up to 3 hours may be worked per day when followed by a schoolday, and 15 per week.
A maximum of 8 hours per day and 30 hours per week are allowed when school is in session, for ages 16 and 17.
Minors under 16 can work 8 hours a day, 40 hours per week during non-school day or week.
Florida specifies the following as the maximum days per week in which a minor under 16 can perform agricultural work: 6
Nightwork Regulations for Minors Under 16
Nightwork is prohibited for minors under age 16 during the following time windows: 7 p.m. before schoolday (9 p.m. during holidays and summer vacations) to 7 a.m. 11 p.m. to 6:30 a.m. before schoolday, for ages 16 and 17.
Prohibited Hazardous Agricultural Occupations for Minors
For workers under 18, the following are considered hazardous occupations: operating or assisting to operate a tractor over 20 PTO horsepower, any trencher or earthmoving equipment, forklift, or any harvesting, planting, or plowing machinery, or any moving machinery.
For workers under 16, operation of power-driven machinery is considered a hazardous occupations.
Other Florida Child Labor Laws
In addition to laws specifically regulating minors employed in the agricultural industry, Florida law has a variety of regulations that cover child labor in general. To learn more, see Florida child labor laws.