New Hampshire:

New Hampshire Child Farm Labor Laws New Hampshire Child Labor in Agriculture & Farming

New Hampshire law does regulate the employment of minors in the agricultural industry.

Child labor laws on New Hampshire and Federal levels have special provisions that apply to minors working in the agricultural industry, including working as farm hands, harvesting fruit or vegetables, etc. In many states, agricultural child labor laws focus on safety and tend to be less restrictive in terms of working hours than general child labor regulations.

In most cases, agricultural child labor laws do not apply to children working on their family's farm. Many traditionally agricultural states have less restrictive child labor laws in this area.

New Hampshire Agricultural Child Labor Age Restrictions

According to New Hampshire state law, the minimum age at which a minor may work in agriculture during school hours is 18, 16 if not legally required to be enrolled in school. The minimum age at which a minor may work in agriculture outside of school hours is 12.

Minor Employment Certificate Requirements in New Hampshire

No employment certificate is required for minors working in agriculture under New Hampshire laws. No age certification is required for minors working in agriculture under New Hampshire laws.

New Hampshire Agricultural Child Labor Restrictions on Working Hours

Maximum Working Hours for Minors Under 16

Up to 8 hours per day and 48 per week may be worked during school vacation.

During the schoolday/week: 3 hours per day and up to 23 per week can be worked if enrolled in school.

A maximum of 30 hours per schoolweek and 48 per week during vacation can be worked if age 16 and 17 and enrolled in school.

New Hampshire specifies the following as the maximum days per week in which a minor under 16 can perform agricultural work: If 16 and 17 and enrolled in school, 6 days per week may be worked.

Nightwork Regulations for Minors Under 16

Nightwork is prohibited for minors under age 16 during the following time windows: 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.

Prohibited Hazardous Agricultural Occupations for Minors

For workers 16 or under New Hampshire adopts, by reference, the Federal list of hazardous occupations.

Other New Hampshire Child Labor Laws

In addition to laws specifically regulating minors employed in the agricultural industry, New Hampshire law has a variety of regulations that cover child labor in general. To learn more, see New Hampshire child labor laws.

Get a New Hampshire all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory New Hampshire and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all New Hampshire and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for November 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to New Hampshire Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By **