Albuquerque, New Mexico Local Minimum Wage for 2019, 2020
While New Mexico's state minimum wage is $9.00 per hour, Albuquerque has set its own, higher minimum wage rates that apply to employees of different classes of company who work Albuquerque.
Because Albuquerque has a higher minimum wage rate than the one set by New Mexico or the Federal government, the higher local minimum wage rate takes precedence and must be paid to all employees covered by the local minimum wage regulation.
Keep in mind that New Mexico and the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act both define various minimum wage exemptions and other labor laws that may apply to employees in Albuquerque. You can find more information about New Mexico's minimum wage and labor laws on this site.
Other Local Minimum Wage Rates in New Mexico
In addition to Albuquerque, there are other localities in New Mexico that have passed municipal minimum wage legislation. The following is a table of other New Mexico localities with established minimum wage laws.
|Locality||Applies To||Minimum Wage||Comparison to State|
|Bernalillo County||All employees||$9.05||+$0.05|
|Las Cruces||All employees||$10.25||+$1.25|
|Santa Fe||All employees||$11.80||+$2.80|
|Santa Fe County||All employees||$11.80||+$2.80|