New Mexico:

New Mexico Child Actor / Model Labor Laws New Mexico Child Labor in Entertainment & Performing Arts

Child labor laws on New Mexico and Federal levels have special provisions that apply to underage performers in the entertainment industry such as child actors, models, singers, etc. Due to the nature of the work and the established need for child performers, entertainment industry child labor laws tend to be less strict than general child labor regulations.

Regulation of child labor in the entertainment industry may include specification of whether or not employment certificates are required, mandatory consent from a parent or guardian, restricions on the type of work that can be done, and more.

New Mexico's Child Labor Laws for Entertainment & Performing Arts

New Mexico law does regulate the employment of minors in the entertainment industry.

Under state law, a New Mexico work permit is required for minors to be employed in the entertainment industry.

Child labor in the entertainment industry is regulated in New Mexico law, under Section 11.1.4.10 - 11.1.4.14..

A work permit is required at all times when employing children under the age of sixteen issued only by the school superintendents, school principals, other appropriate school officers or the director of the labor and industrial division.

The work must also be certified as not dangerous to the child or prohibited as outlined in the FLSA hazardous list. The maximum number of hours allowed for children under the age of sixteen to work is 18 hours a week during the school week and 40 hours a week in non-school weeks.

With respect to employing and protecting child performers in the entertainment industry, including motion pictures, theatrical, radio, and television productions, employers are required to follow educational and safety requirements and they are responsible for obtaining a Pre-Authorization Certificate for any child performing under the age of 18 before the employment begins. The certificate is valid for one year or until the specific project is completed, whichever time period is shorter.

The employer must provide a certified teacher for each group of 10 or fewer children and must provide a New Mexico certified trainer or technician at the place of employment at all times when a child performer may be exposed to potentially hazardous conditions.

The full statutes governing child entertainment within New Mexico can be found at the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions Child Labor Section 11.1.4.10 - 11.1.4.14.

Other New Mexico Child Labor Laws

In addition to laws specifically regulating minors employed in the entertainment industry, New Mexico law has a variety of regulations that cover child labor in general. To learn more, see New Mexico child labor laws.


Get a New Mexico all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory New Mexico and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all New Mexico and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for May 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to New Mexico Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/new-mexico/entertainment-child-labor-laws