Utah Child Farm Labor Laws Utah Child Labor in Agriculture & Farming

Utah law does regulate the employment of minors in the agricultural industry.

Child labor laws on Utah and Federal levels have special provisions that apply to minors working in the agricultural industry, including working as farm hands, harvesting fruit or vegetables, etc. In many states, agricultural child labor laws focus on safety and tend to be less restrictive in terms of working hours than general child labor regulations.

In most cases, agricultural child labor laws do not apply to children working on their family's farm. Many traditionally agricultural states have less restrictive child labor laws in this area.

Utah Agricultural Child Labor Age Restrictions

According to Utah state law, the minimum age at which a minor may work in agriculture during school hours is 16. The minimum age at which a minor may work in agriculture outside of school hours is 12 years old, no age limit with parental consent.

Minor Employment Certificate Requirements in Utah

No employment certificate is required for minors working in agriculture under Utah laws. Age certification is required for minors working in agriculture who are under the age of 18 (must be provided on request).

Utah Agricultural Child Labor Restrictions on Working Hours

Maximum Working Hours for Minors Under 16

Up to 8 hours per day and 40 per week may be worked when school is not in session. During a schoolday a maximum of 4 hours can be worked, although this restriction can be waived with parental consent.

Utah does not specify any limitations on the number of days per week that can be worked by minors under 16 who are engaged in agricultural work.

Nightwork Regulations for Minors Under 16

Nightwork is prohibited for minors under age 16 during the following time windows: 9:30 p.m. to 5 a.m. before schoolday (can be waived with parental consent)

Prohibited Hazardous Agricultural Occupations for Minors

With parental consent, Utah has no age limit for agriculture work, including operation of power-driven farm machinery. Otherwise, hazardous occupations of general application for workers under 18 are considered as covering agriculture where applicable (such as operating power-driven hoisting apparatus).

Other Utah Child Labor Laws

In addition to laws specifically regulating minors employed in the agricultural industry, Utah law has a variety of regulations that cover child labor in general. To learn more, see Utah child labor laws.

Get an Utah all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Utah and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Utah and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for July 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to Utah Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/utah/agriculture-child-labor-laws