Alaska:

Alaska Child Labor Laws Alaska Child Labor Laws 2019

Child labor laws on Alaska and <a href="/federal/child-labor-laws">Federal</a> levels exist to prevent the exploitation of minors for labor, and ensure that education is prioritized over work. Limitations on child labor vary by age, and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be done, maximum hours that may be worked, and limitations on late or overnight work.

Regulation of child labor may include the use of Employment Certificates issued by the minor's school or the state Labor Department, and/or an Age Certification document that verifies the minor's age for work purposes. This page details Alaska's child labor law regulations.

Mandatory Employment & Age Certification for Minors

Employment Certificates in Alaska

Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are mandatory in Alaska for minors under 17, or 16 and 17 if their employer is licensed to sell alcohol, . The certificate must be acquired by the minor and presented to their employer to verify their ability to work before they are hired.

In addition to using individual employment certificates, Alaska employers may obtain advance approval for a specific job consisting of listed duties from the state Labor Department permitting them to hire minors, of at least 14 years of age, without prior individual approval.

Acquiring an Alaska Employment Certificate:

In Alaska, minors can obtain an Employment Certificate both through the Alaska Department of Labor and through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator. An Employment Certificate will be issued if the minor meets all of the state's criteria for employment.


Age Certification in Alaska

While some states require working minors to provide their employers with an age certification document, this is not required for minors who wish to work in Alaska. Employers are expected to identify minors whom they employ and ensure that their employment is in compliance with all Federal and state child labor restrictions.

Minor Working Hour Restrictions in Alaska

Minors who are authorized to work in Alaska are subject to restrictions on when they can work, and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions in effect depend on the age of the minor, and are designed to ensure that work does not interfere with the minor's schooling.


Maximum Hours of Work for Minors

Working hour restrictions limit how many hours a minor may work per day, and per week.

For Minors Under 16:

During school periods 9 combined hours of work and school are permitted per day, up to 23 hours per week, with work up to 6 days/week.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Minors under 18 can work a maximum of a 6-day week.


Nightwork Restrictions for Minors

Nightwork restrictions set limits on how late a minor can legally work.

For Minors Under 16:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 9 p.m. to 5 a.m

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Alaska has no restrictions on nightwork for minors aged 16 and 17.

Special Child Labor Laws in Alaska

In addition to laws requiring work certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting), and the entertainment industry (including child actors, models, and performers).

To learn about these special child labor laws in Alaska, see the following pages.

On a Federal level, child labor is regulated under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may additionally be subject to special labor law regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break periods while working, and more.


Get an Alaska all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Alaska and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Alaska and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for September 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to Alaska Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/alaska/child-labor-laws