Denver, Colorado Local Minimum Wage for 2021, 2022
While Colorado's state minimum wage is $12.56 per hour, Denver has set its own, higher minimum wage rate that applies to employees of all companies who work within Denver. A minimum wage increase is currently scheduled in Denver, but until the effective date of the state minimum wage rate of $12.56 will apply.
Because Denver has a higher minimum wage rate than the one set by Colorado or the Federal government, the higher local minimum wage rate takes precedence and must be paid to all employees covered by the local minimum wage regulation.
Keep in mind that Colorado and the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act both define various minimum wage exemptions and other labor laws that may apply to employees in Denver. You can find more information about Colorado's minimum wage and labor laws on this site.